Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I have a problem weith my network card, during the installation everything was fine, but after the final reboot i got this error message : Bringing eth0 up via ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Network Card

Hi,

I have a problem weith my network card, during the installation everything was fine, but after the final reboot i got this error message :

Bringing eth0 up via DHCP... [!!]

ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
    "netmount" was not started.

And then if i try: ifconfig eth0 up i get the following error:
    eth0: unknown interface: No such device.

My network card is an old Compaq NC3121..

Did someone have any idea what i can do to make this work ?

I'm new to Linux, first try after a life of Window ..

Thank you.

can you post the output of ifconfig?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Just Joined!
    Sounds to me like you dont have the right network modules loading at boot time. Did you configure your modules.autoload.d to support your network card? Try doing modprobe <networkmodule> then run dhcpcd again.

Just Joined!
    Here's the output of ifconfig :

Link encap : Local loopback
    inet addr : 127.0.0.1 mask : 255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX and TX : all 0

Just Joined!
    I have read something about this on Google.. but i don't know how to do this

Don't even know where to find which <networkmodule> i need. ;o)

Just Joined!
    One way you can find out is to boot the live cd and then do an lsmod. The gentoo live cd uses the coldplug system to detect all your heardware. So if you boot from the live cd do