Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
I don't think you have to add anything to the .iso, have you checked the md5sum? compair the md5sum you get for the download with Code: md5sum <download>.iso in linux ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157

    I don't think you have to add anything to the .iso, have you checked the md5sum? compair the md5sum you get for the download with
    Code:
    md5sum <download>.iso
    in linux and a prog like this in Windows.

    And compaire the output with the md5sum file that is two below the iso files if you downloaded form this mirror http://gentoo.blueyonder.co.uk/relea...2004.3/livecd/.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  2. #12
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Not to insult you, but are you sure you burned it correctly?

  3. #13
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    Try to burn the ISO insanely slow. Instead of something like x32 burn it at x12. Sure, it takes longer but meh.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    i am burning it how i burn every other isop it is turning out like every other iso just not booting. is there a way on windows to find if you need amd or i686 or something?

  5. #15
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Not sure I get what you're saying...

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    http://www.linuxiso.org/distro.php?distro=45

    how do i find out which i need like: AMD64, sparc.
    Does it make a difference?

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    35
    Those downloads are for diferent platforms. If you are using a normal pc, i386 is fine. If your processor is from the 64bit family then use amd64

  8. #18
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    It would definitely make a difference. What kind of processor does your computer have? Pentium, Athlon, Athlon64, etc.?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    58
    AMD duron

  10. #20
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Then you would want any of these: i386, i586, i686.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •