Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey, I'm a newbie to Linux, so perhaps someone could help me. I'm trying to install a GUI, Xfce4, on my laptop, but whenever I try to emerge it from ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

ebuild issues

Hey,
    I'm a newbie to Linux, so perhaps someone could help me. I'm trying to install a GUI, Xfce4, on my laptop, but whenever I try to emerge it from the Live CD, I get a "there are no ebuilds to satisfy Xfce..." error message. In fact, I get the same error when I try to emerge ANY programs from the LiveCD!! Since I have installed the most recent (for x86) version of the kernel, I find this hard to believe.

I should also tell you that I'm having problems getting my PC-Network card working, so connecting to the Net for updates is tricky. I DO have the most current portage snapshot on CD, but I don't know what to do with it (should I copy it to a directory, etc?). Is there a command I could use to get emerge to check in a certain directory for a file instead of automatically trying to ftp?

Help!

mj

Linux Guru
    First of all, in case you don't know, you should be following the Gentoo Handbook .

One thing the handbook doesn't make real clear: If you want to install only from the CD set and not from ftp, you must do a stage 3 install. Section 5.d. has instructions on installing the Portage snapshot. A snapshot is good for only one point in time. If you got the snapshot from ftp, you need to emerge the packages from ftp. If you want to emerge from CD, you must use the snapshot on the CD, at least for initial setup of the system.

Lemme know how things go. I'll check my notes and write more later.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Linux Guru
    I have looked a little closer at where you are (it's a bit awkward to get too deep at the office...).