Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 53
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #41
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901

    Boot up with the livecd, and do this
    Code:
    lsmod
    To find out which module the livecd is using to get you on the internet.
    Then add that to /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6
    Then do
    Code:
    modules-update
    I looked at your /etc/conf.d/net file and that looks good.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  2. #42
    The modules the livecd has in addition to the ones I have are the skge and evdev, but neither is loading.

    Code:
    modprobe: FATAL: Error inserting evdev (/lib/modules/2.6.11-gentoo-r6/kernel/drivers/input/evdev.ko): Invalid module format
    
    ... can't load module evdev
    missing kernel or user mode driver evdev
    This error happens with both skge and evdev as well as atkbd. Any ideas on how which drivers these are and why they're having problems loading?

    I think that the network will work if I get skge working.

  3. #43
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    When you did lsmod, did you see the column "used by"?
    And was it loading all of those drivers for your ethernet card?

    Maybe you could try emerging those drivers?
    N00B at Gentoo here, so I don't even know if that is a viable soution.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #44
    the kernel tries to load the modules that i need, but it fails with errors I posted before. I've managed to identify them as the network drivers.

  6. #45
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    When you compiled those drivers in your kernel, did you have them built-in, or did youcompile them as modules?

    Can you post the output of lsmod from the livecd?
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  7. #46
    i tried the drivers both ways, part of the kernel and compiled

    here's my lsmod from the livecd:
    Code:
    floppy		0
    rtc		0
    evdev		0
    skge		0
    parport_pc	0
    parport		1 parport_pc
    ahci		0
    sata_qstor	0
    sata_uli	0
    sata_sis	0
    sata_sx4	0
    sata_nv		0
    sata_via	0
    sata_svw	0
    sata_sil	0
    sata_promise	0
    libata		10 ahci,sata_qstor,sata_uli,sata_sis,sata_sx4,sata_nv,sata_via,sata_svw,sata_sil,sata_promise
    dm_mirror	0
    dm_mod		1 dm_mirror
    sbp2		0
    ohci1394	0
    ieee1394	2 sbp2,ohci1394
    sl811_hcd	0
    ohci_hcd	0
    uhci_hcd	0
    usb_storage	0
    usbhid		0
    ehci_hcd	0
    usbcore		7 sl811_hcd,ohci_hcd,uhci_hcd,usb_storage,usbhid,ehci_hcd

  8. #47
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    That output wasn't as helpful as I thought it would be.

    Have you tried
    Code:
    modprobe skge
    Then
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start
    At this point, I have to go to sleep now. I will sleep on te problem, maybe a solution will present itself in the morning.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  9. #48
    i've tried those and they didn't help

    thanks for you help thus far!

  10. #49
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    The only ting I can think of to do at this point would be to use the livecd, chroot into the Gentoo system. And reemerge skge.

    1. Mount the partition mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo
    2. chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
    3. emerge skge

    Can't hurt.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  11. #50
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Jus saw the posts now...
    Code:
    #etc/conf.d/net
    
    iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0" #enabled while troubleshooting
    
    iface_eth0="dhcp"
    dhcpcd_eth0="-HDN"
    Try commenting out iface_eth0="192...". If you use dhcp, you should'nt manually spesify your IP-address, and iface_eth0="dhcp" and dhcpcd_eth0="-HDN" should be enough.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •