Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am new to Gentoo (actually using VidaLinux...but it's Gentoo based) and am learning about the full potential of portage. Firstly, I would like to say the portage is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Masked emerge packages

Hi,

I am new to Gentoo (actually using VidaLinux...but it's Gentoo based) and am learning about the full potential of portage. Firstly, I would like to say the portage is incredible. Although it takes a longer time to get packages installed, they work nicely when I get them (and I usually find what I am looking for).

One thing that I don't understand is how to emerge masked packages. Anytime I try, emerge stops and says I can't install it. How do you emerge masked packages? I'm assuming you can because why else would the packages be there?

Thanks in advance,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

This isn't the answer you want probably but will help.

Masked Packages

Code Listing 18: Portage warning about masked packages

!!! all ebuilds that could satisfy "bootsplash" have been masked.

Code Listing 19: Portage warning about masked packages - reason

!!! possible candidates are:

- gnome-base/gnome-2.8.0_pre1 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
    - lm-sensors/lm-sensors-2.8.7 (masked by: -sparc keyword)
    - sys-libs/glibc-2.3.4.20040808 (masked by: -* keyword)
    - dev-util/cvsd-1.0.2 (masked by: missing keyword)
    - media-video/ati-gatos-4.3.0 (masked by: package.mask)
    - sys-libs/glibc-2.3.2-r11 (masked by: profile)