Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi This is my first try at installing gentoo, have read many stories that its quite a challenge first time round, ive lasted 10mins and now im stuck. Have partitioned ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    9

    Problem with activating swap partition


    Hi

    This is my first try at installing gentoo, have read many stories that its quite a challenge first time round, ive lasted 10mins and now im stuck.

    Have partitioned the hard drive with the basic boot, swap, root and have have applied the ext3 filesystem to all of them.

    Its when i try to activate the swap partition i get an error message.

    I type - "swapon /dev/hda2"

    And the reply is - "Unable to find swap-space signature"
    "swapon: /dev/hda2: Invalid argument"

    Any help on this would be great!

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Sheffield, England
    Posts
    2
    I'm still a relative Newbie on this but I have been having problems with my SuSE partition using too much of my disk so I've been reading up on partitions.

    It sounds as though you have incorrectly set your Swap as EXT£ rather than Linux Swap.

    I think you are meant to give the swap partition a seperate code (82?) that tells the OS that it is swap space rather than storage space.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rockin' in the USA!!!
    Posts
    603
    ^^That's right, when you fdisk your drive, you need to tell it that this is swap space, and you don't need to format it, otherwise it won't work at all

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for the help, that problem is sorted.
    Time for the next round!

    Carried on throught the instalation with no other problems until i reached the reboot section. The first time around after rebboting it said it was loading grub but nothing happened, i put this down to messing up the process somewhere and started the installation again from scratch.

    This time after i reached the reboot stage grub loaded sucessfully, when i select gentoo linux it replies -

    Booting 'Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r'
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r4
    Error 19: Linux kernal must be loaded before initrd
    Press a key to continue


    When i press a key it takes me back to grub, and the process repeats itself. I am not looking forward to starting the installation again if i have to.

    Does anyone know a fix to this problem?

    Many thanks Martin

  6. #5
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by bungle3
    When i press a key it takes me back to grub, and the process repeats itself. I am not looking forward to starting the installation again if i have to.

    Does anyone know a fix to this problem?

    Many thanks Martin
    Can you post your grub.conf? It seems that you have the initrd line before the kernel line in the Gentoo entry...
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    9
    Would do but not sure how to now that my comp only loads into grub.
    If you can tell me how get to the file, i will put it up.

    Cheers

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    boot into any live cd

    and if your root is /dev/hda3 and your boot is /dev/hda1 --change values to reflect your own setup,

    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/gentoo
    mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
    
    mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
    
    cd /mnt/gentoo/boot
    and you will be into your grub directory, open the config file with your favorite editor
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    9
    Ok sorted, grub.conf contains -

    default 0
    timeout 20
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/spash.xpm.gz

    title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r4
    root(hd0,0)
    kernal /kernal-2.6.11-gentoo-r4 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=/8192 real_root=/dev/hda3
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r4

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    31

    heh

    It's pronounced "kernel"

    i mean, i think you can call the file "kernal" if you want, but the grub comman is "kernel"

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Seems like a missing swap-signature... Did you remember to use "mkswap /dev/hda2"?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •