Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I am a total newby that has been coveting a unix box for a while now...I recently tried suse 9.1 on my old gateway dinosuar but the display ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

display problem, kinda funny

Hi all, I am a total newby that has been coveting a unix box for a while now...I recently tried suse 9.1 on my old gateway dinosuar but the display problems were a total nightmare!!! However, on advice from a friend I tried libranet 2.81 instead. It isn't a nightmare like suse but does something kinda odd...when I get to the desktop the bottom is about 1/3 of the way up the screen and there is black and white lines/static below it. HOWEVER, when I hit ctrl+alt+f1 and go to the command line, when I come back (with ctrl+alt+f7) the screen is near perfect?!? The only issue is some dialog boxes are cut off at the bottom (it's almost as if the they are hiding behind the taskbar). I feel I am so close to finally getting this running. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, if anyone can help I would be very appreciative!!!

g6 266 mhz proc
    192 mb ram
    8.2 gig hd
    ev500 monitor
    30-69 hor sync
    47-100 vert refresh

Thanks in advance

can you post your xorg.conf file. This should provide some answers.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

Just Joined!

file location

where is this file located?

i'm not sure about suse about it should be the same:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

Just Joined!

file not found