Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi all, Everytime I try to change the properties of the GNOME panel by right clicking and going to propeties, the panel crashes. Any ideas as to why this might ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619

    GNOME panel problems


    Hi all,

    Everytime I try to change the properties of the GNOME panel by right clicking and going to propeties, the panel crashes. Any ideas as to why this might be happening and how to solve this? Is there any other way to change the properties of certain panels?

    Thanks in advance,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Atlanta, GA USA
    Posts
    18
    Upgrading to Gnome 2.8.3 fixed it for me. Actually, 2.8.2 might have fixed it...

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Thanks for the reply,

    I will try upgrading GNOME and hopefully that will work for me as well.
    I am new to VidaLinux/Gentoo so do I just type
    Code:
    emerge -u gnome
    or something else to upgrade GNOME.

    Thanks in advance,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    That code should work. Although you might want to be in the CLI just in case. I'm not sure if GNOME stores older versions of itself.
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

  5. #5
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    When you say be in the CLI, do you mean to push something like ctrl-alt-f1 and emerge GNOME from there or do you mean something else?

    Thanks,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    Yes that is what I mean. Command Line Interface. Learn to respect its power.

    In further response to your question, you shouldn't *NEED* to be in CLI to do that.
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Trust me, I am learning the power of the CLI. I use it more often that I thought I ever would. I could use nautilus to copy a file, but I usually use the CLI.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Quote Originally Posted by Dachnaz
    Yes that is what I mean. Command Line Interface. Learn to respect its power.

    In further response to your question, you shouldn't *NEED* to be in CLI to do that.
    No, you can do it from a terminal in X and the current Gnome will run happily until you restart it. This is the case as it's all stored in RAM while you run it, so that copy is the old copy until it's killed then restarted.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •