Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37
sdousley, looking at yours, what is the name of the kernel? Shouldn't it be 2.6.xxx or something like that. No, Gentoo is on (hd0, or hda9. depending on which angle ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    sdousley, looking at yours, what is the name of the kernel?
    Shouldn't it be 2.6.xxx or something like that.
    No, Gentoo is on (hd0, or hda9. depending on which angle you look at it.

    No bootloader, I am using SUSE's grub to boot everything.

    There is no K missing in front of the kernel name, in your quote it is missing, but not in mine.

    And lloking at the syntax in my entry for Gentoo, I can't figure out what the problem is.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #32
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    sdousley, looking at yours, what is the name of the kernel?
    Shouldn't it be 2.6.xxx or something like that.
    You can name your kernel whatever you want as long as you give that name to grub/lilo.

  3. #33
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I learned something new today. I always thought you had to go with that name that was given. The 2.6.xxxx. Thanks jaboua.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. #34
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I can boot Gentoo now. I added /boot in front of the /kernel and /initrd entries.
    You can't imagine how happy I was to see "Uncompressing Linux... OK, booting the kernel."

    But the networking doesn't work. think I will start a new topic for that though.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #35
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    sdousley, looking at yours, what is the name of the kernel?
    Shouldn't it be 2.6.xxx or something like that.
    nope, it is bzImage, that's what i saved it as. I guess i should save it as kernel-2.6.11-r4 or something (what ever version it is) But i dont it that way now!! hehe
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  6. #36
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If you instead of copying the kernel manually, run "make install", it will automaticly call your kernel vmlinuz in the 2.6-series, so I guess thats the default.

  7. #37
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    hey guys please use [code] tags to post anything having to du with grub so that you wont get thoes smilies in the middle of everything
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •