Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37
I am attempting a stage3 install. I did almost everything exactly the way the handbook said to. The only thing I didn't do was to create a /boot partition. Or ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    Cant boot Gentoo


    I am attempting a stage3 install. I did almost everything exactly the way the handbook said to.
    The only thing I didn't do was to create a /boot partition. Or install a bootloader. I tried installing to /dev/hda9 where / is. But,it kept giving me errors. So, I didnt bother. I am using SUSE's grub bootloader to boot all the rest of my OS's.
    I used a genkernel, and put the information that the handbook said to put in to the Gentoo bootloader, and I put that in my SUSE menu.lst.
    Now when I try to boot Gentoo, I get Grub error 15, file not found.

    The only other thing I did different was in the title I put Gentoo, instead of Gentoo+the kernel name. But I don't think that should matter.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    let me get this straight then, /boot is within the / partition (which is /dev/hda9)?

    Also, could u paste your suse's /boot/grub/menu.lst file?
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    This is the entry in SUSE's menu.lst.
    [quote]title Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
    root (hd0,9)
    kernel /kernel-2.6.11-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_
    root=/dev/hda9
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

    And this is the Gentoo menu.lst
    default 0
    timeout 30
    title=Gentoo
    root (hd0,8)
    kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda9
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    oooooooooops :oops: :oops: :oops: (hd0,9) :oops: :oops: :oops:
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I don't feel so embarrassed now.
    Changing that (hd0,9) to (hd0,8) changed the error I get from system is ext2fs to system is reiserfs.

    Still get error 15 file not found.
    But, there is something there, I just have to figure ot how to get to it.

    What is up with the 8) in my post? It should 8 ) without the space.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Sdousley, when you installed Gentoo, were you adding it to your already existing OS's?
    If so, could you c&p your entry in SUSE/menu.lst for Gentoo. I would appreciate it.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    did u put ur gentoo kernel in /boot...... you should only have the one /boot in suse

    this error is from grub not finding the kernel where u have it looking for it

    the root (hdx,x) should be the same as with your suse setup....just to make life easier and put the kernel in /boob

    another way to do this would be to let grub find the kernel for you by as root type
    Code:
    grub
    then at the grub prompt type
    Code:
    find  /path/to/the/kernel/and/the/exact/name/of/the/kernel/
    hit enter and i it should output a a(hdx,x) that is the root (hdx,x) where the kernel is
    (this can also be done at the grub prompt when u get the error, then once u know where it is u can manualy boot it if you want by typing
    Code:
    kernel /path/to/kernel/kernel
    then type
    Code:
    boot <kernel>
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Actually the pathname is what I am having trouble with.
    So, I tried Nerderello's grub tutorial, where he has the TAB completion commands.
    When I typed
    feub>kernel (hd0,8)/ this was returned
    kernel (hd0,8)/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3

    So, I put that into my menu.lst in SUSE. Now my menu entry for gentoo in SUSE looks like this
    [quote]title Gentoo Linux 2.6.11-r3
    root (hd0,8)
    kernel (hd0,8)/boot/kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r3 root=/dev/hda9
    initrd /initrd-2.6.11-gentoo-r3
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Is a separate boot partition necessary to boot Gentoo? If it is necessary, that is my problem. Because I don't have one.

    And if it is necessary to have one. How can I chainload it?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    205
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Is a separate boot partition necessary to boot Gentoo? If it is necessary, that is my problem. Because I don't have one.

    And if it is necessary to have one. How can I chainload it?
    No it's not, I have /boot and the root fs on the same partition...
    Ma homeboy is Jesus himself.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •