Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Trying to make a dual FC3/Gentoo box, and didn't get far; screwed up the partitions. Anyway, I think they're back the way they were, but trying to boot the liveCD ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    31

    Installer is hanging... 2005.0


    Trying to make a dual FC3/Gentoo box, and didn't get far; screwed up the partitions. Anyway, I think they're back the way they were, but trying to boot the liveCD stops dead with that cool pacmanny logo onscreen.

    so i hit some F keys and got output:

    Buffer I/O error on device hdc, logical blog 3922
    hdc: media error (bad sector) ...
    ...
    end_request: I/O herror, dev hdc

    sounds like the CD went wonky?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    You might have an unsupported/partially supported hard drive, or more likely a few corrupt sectors on your hard drive.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    An unsupported hard disk is imo extreemly unlikly, more likely the cd drive or the cd its self contains errors. try re-downloading the live cd and check the md5 sum to make sure that its not corrupt.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    31
    burned a new disk. all worked out. using my new, slick gentoo box now. stay tuned for annoying questions from me about apache -- after i search through old posts... thanks

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    My installation also hangs just like that, i also got the splashscreen away by pressing some F-key. However there wern't any error messages, the last few lines were:
    Code:
    Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
    fbsplash: console 0 using theme 'livecd-2005.0'
    
    
    
    fbsplash: switched splash state to 'on' on console 0

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Did you check the md5sum of the iso?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    20
    Nevermind, I messed around a bit with the kernel options and got it up and finished the install
    Only problem was that it didn't find my ethernet card, but I'll search around a litte before I post about that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •