Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
Well, I recently switched over to kde from enlightenment, because since I now have the power to run it, so...Also, I really want to try out some of its apps ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366

    Emerge problems in kde


    Well, I recently switched over to kde from enlightenment, because since I now have the power to run it, so...Also, I really want to try out some of its apps I have used before. I have kde up and running without a hitch; however, I cannot emerge any apps, nor dl source directly and compile myself, that require the kde lib files.

    I just did a standard emerge kde; however, I always get the same error when trying to emerge numerous kde apps, e.g. qtella or k3b. I get the error...
    Code:
    Checking for KDE libraries...
    KDE libs not found!  If you have installed KDE in an
    unusual place, please use the "--with-kde-libs=" option
    To disable KDE integration use the "--with-kde-libs=no" option.
    
    make: ***No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
    ...the rest is just the status message that it failed and not to post this part or the above part. The problem lies in the ./configure part of the auto emerge.

    This only happens with apps that require kde apps. Is there something that I have to do to update a path or anything that shows where the kde libs are? I have never had this problem before, only with kde.

    Thanks for your time guys,

    John
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    have you run an emerge --sync since installing KDE? The apps could be requesting a newer version of KDE to what u have.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    I have, a few times, the version of kde I have is the newest that is on portage now
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    ok, that's odd....

    Just as a test, i ran
    Code:
    emerge k3b
    It wanted to install 15 other pkg's, so i ran:
    Code:
    emerge k3b --nodeps
    and it ./configured ok, no problems.

    try:
    Code:
    emerge gentoolkit
    then:
    Code:
    genlop -l | grep kde
    and paste the output
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    Code:
    #genlop -l | grep kde
    
    (all of the following figures are preceded by date and time of compilation}
    kde-base/kde-env3-r3
    kde-base/arts-1.3.2.r1
    kde-base/kdebase-pam-4
    kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r7
    ...
    and 17 other kde sources

    also the emerge k3b --nodeps seems to configure ok, but is making over and over and over again, seems to be a loop...think its the lib problem affecting it somehow?
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  6. #6
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    ok, well, here are all the packages that show up when i run genlop -l | grep kde.

    Tue Feb 22 22:33:40 2005 >>> kde-base/kde-env-3-r3
    Tue Feb 22 23:45:00 2005 >>> kde-base/arts-1.3.2
    Sun Feb 27 18:06:07 2005 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r2
    Sun Mar 27 18:40:34 2005 >>> kde-base/arts-1.3.2-r1
    Sun Mar 27 21:19:36 2005 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r7
    Fri Apr 8 14:26:55 2005 >>> kde-base/kdebase-pam-4
    Fri Apr 8 16:18:40 2005 >>> kde-base/kdebase-3.3.2-r2
    Fri Apr 8 17:30:29 2005 >>> kde-base/kdemultimedia-3.3.2
    Sat Apr 23 05:12:34 2005 >>> kde-base/kdelibs-3.3.2-r8
    if u hadn't worked out already, genlop -l shows all aps that have been installed
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    Yeah, they are all installed, and I haven't had any problems with any packaged kde app, just the one's that require the kde libraries, for some reason on an emerge they cannot be found

    any other ideas?
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  8. #8
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    at this point i would just try re-emergeing the kde libs again then if that didnt work i'd umerge them then emerge kde and it should fetch them there is probably a broken dep or link somewhere
    also you might try revdep-rebuild to rebuild reverse dependicies and if you have or do ever unmerge anything you should ruun revdep-rebuild

    and pretty much if it cant find a dep then simply re emerge what it cant find
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  9. #9
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Quote Originally Posted by loft306
    and if you have or do ever unmerge anything you should ruun revdep-rebuild
    And just as an additional note to that, you should re-run revdep-rebuild (if it did need to re-emerge something) until it simply exits without re-merging something
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    re-emerged the kde libs, then unmerged and emerged them again, then ran revdep-rebuild...it rebuilt firefox and OOo, but nothing to do with kde.

    originalloy my make.conf was -qt -kde, but I just took away the minuses when I wanted to emerge kde, should I have done anything else rather than just change the make.conf?

    still stuck...

    is there a way to update the whole system, emerge -u world maybe? not sure the syntax, do you think that would work...

    thanks,

    John
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •