Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Ok I was helping my friend do a stage 3 on his athlon xp, all going good till we came to dealing with Grub. First off here is the Partition ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Cloud, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    5

    Grub Issue With 2005.0


    Ok I was helping my friend do a stage 3 on his athlon xp, all going good till we came to dealing with Grub.
    First off here is the Partition Table
    Code:
    sda1 /boot ext2
    sda2 swap
    sda3 /  reiserfs
    And the grub.conf
    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 30
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    
    title=Gentoo
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /kernel-2.6.11-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/sda2
    And Finally the error output on boot (after selecting in grub menu)
    Code:
    VFS: Cannot open root device "sda2" or unknown_block (0,0)
    Please append a correct "root=" boot option
    Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount roof fs on unknown_block (0,0)
    All the data posted to the screen before these three lines appears normal in my experiance.
    We built our own kernel and i made sure that all the appropiate file systems were supported. The only thing i can figure is that it isnt accepting /dev/sda2 as root.
    Any ideas or pointers would be much appeciated.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    sda3 / reiserfs
    root=/dev/sda2

    If you straighten these out it should help.

    Or is this a typo?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    According to your partition table, sda2 is a swap partition and sda3 is reiserfs, which appears to be where your root ( / ) is. In that case, in the 'kernel' line in grub, "root=/dev/sda2" should be changed to "root=/dev/sda3".
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Cloud, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    5
    Sorry about that that was a typo on my part, shows you not to post when almost asleep.
    The Real Partition table is:
    Code:
    sda1    /boot   reiserfs
    sda2   /            reiserfs
    sda3   swap
    Sorry About That

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Your /boot is that ext2 or reiserfs?
    It needs to be ext2.
    Another typo?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Your /boot is that ext2 or reiserfs?
    It needs to be ext2.
    I have a ext3-boot... And in my fstab, there is a comment telling you to add the notail option to the boot-partition if it's reiserfs, so I think you can use reiser as boot...

  7. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Your /boot is that ext2 or reiserfs?
    It needs to be ext2.
    I have a ext3-boot... And in my fstab, there is a comment telling you to add the notail option to the boot-partition if it's reiserfs, so I think you can use reiser as boot...
    I could of swore I read that it had to be ext2, and that you had to do something special for ext3. But, whatever, time to move to the problem.
    If it is reiserfs, do you have that notail option in /etc/fstab?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    St Cloud, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    5
    Sorry about this again, /boot is ext2 i switched it after we started having issues, although i think i forgot to switch it in the fstab. How much of an issue would that be?

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    How much issue? The partition won't get mounted and the kernel can't be loaded, resulting in linux not booting.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    How much issue? The partition won't get mounted and the kernel can't be loaded, resulting in linux not booting.
    Though a simple boot off a Live cd, edit the fstab to be correct, and reboot will be sufficient to solve the problem.
    "I am not an alcoholic, alcoholics go to meetings"
    Registered Linux user = #372327

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •