Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I recently installed vidalinux on a spare hard drive. It's a distro that's pretty much a stage 3 install of gentoo. This is my first linux install, and so I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need help updating config files...

I recently installed vidalinux on a spare hard drive. It's a distro that's pretty much a stage 3 install of gentoo.

This is my first linux install, and so I'm not very experienced with linux but I'm getting used to many aspects really quick.

However, I'm really stumped on portage. Emerging a package itself is a breeze but I have no clue what to do to update the config files.

when I performed emerge sync. portage told me that portage needed to be updated. so I emerged portage, which took about 2 1/2 hours. Afterwards, I was told that I now have 7 config files that need to be updated. I typed emerge --help config to learn more about updating the config files but the explanations don't help me much.

in any case I'm stuck typing in etc-update or dispatch-conf without knowing how to proceed afterwards.

localhost root # find /etc -iname '._cfg????_*'
    /etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_net
    /etc/._cfg0000_man.conf
    /etc/._cfg0000_rc.conf
    /etc/ssl/misc/._cfg0000_c_issuer
    /etc/ssl/misc/._cfg0000_CA.pl
    /etc/ssl/misc/._cfg0000_der_chop
    /etc/ssl/._cfg0000_openssl.cnf
    these are the files that I need to update. On the vidalinux forums I was told that I should be careful with the rc.conf and net files.

when typing dispatch-conf I get:
    --- /etc/conf.d/net 2005-05-06 08:39:17.000000000 -0400
    +++ /etc/conf.d/._cfg0000_net 2005-01-31 20:55:54.000000000 -0500
    @@ -5,7 +5,7 @@

# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
    #
    -#iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
    +iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"