Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I get the following error when I emerge GRUB: make[3]: *** [check-TESTS] Error 1 make[3]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah` make[2]: *** [check-am] Error 2 make[2]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah` make[1]: *** [check] ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58

    GRUB install error [SOLVED]


    I get the following error when I emerge GRUB:

    make[3]: *** [check-TESTS] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah`
    make[2]: *** [check-am] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah`
    make[1]: *** [check] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah`
    make: *** [check-recursive] Error 1

    Did it install and I can continue with my Gentoo installation or what should I do?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    That doesn't look good.
    Are you trying to "emerge GRUB"?
    Or "emerge grub"?

    But I would think with the first one it would just say no ebuilds to satisfy GRUB.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    I'm using grub not GRUB

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    Alright. As I look through the little amount of the emerge I can still see on screen this is what I get.

    >>>Test phase [enabled]: sys-boot/grub-0.94-r1
    >>>Test phase [check]: sys-boot/grub-0.94-r1
    Making check in netboot
    make[1]: Entering directory `blahblahblah/netboot`
    make[1]: Nothing to be done for `check`
    make[1]: Leaving directory `blahblahblah/netboot`
    Making check in stage2
    make[1]: Entering directory `blahblahblah/stage2`
    make check-am
    make[2]: Entering directory `blahblahblah/stage2`
    make check-TESTS
    make[3]: Entering directory `blahblahblah/stage2`
    ffs_stage1_5 is too big (9248 > 716
    FAIL: size_test

    What I don't get is the Making check in stage2. I'm using a stage3. I think that's why it's messing up. Plus it's a test. Do you think it installed and for some reason it's using the wrong test or something?

  6. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    The stage2 that it is referring to is part of grub.
    Nothing to do with the fact that you are doing a stage 3 install.

    Have you had any other problems emerging stuff?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    No, this is the only problem I've had.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Have you tried "emerge lilo"?
    Could you post your /etc/make.conf?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    Well, I'd like to use GRUB (I heard it's better, wouldn't really know)

    Here's my make.conf

    CFLAGS="-02 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
    CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
    CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
    MAKEOPTS="-j2"
    FEATURES="sandbox ccache autoaddcvs buildpkg collision-protect cvs digest distcc distlocks fixpackages sign test"

  10. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    IMO Grub is better. I just figured if you were having problems emerging grub, emerging lilo might work.

    The only thing I see in your make.conf file is no USE flags. But you have FEATURES. I don't know if that replaces USE or not.

    So I am not sure what else you could do.
    Have you been to the IRC, there is always somebody in there.
    I have only been using Gentoo for just over a week.
    This is my make.conf, I don't know if it will help you or not.
    My USE flags are optimized for kde and not gnome.
    Code:
    CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -fomit-frame-pointer"
    CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
    CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
    MAKEOPTS="-j2"
    PORTAGE_TMPFS="/dev/shm"
    USE="-gtk -gnome qt kde dvdr alsa cdr"
    /etc/make.conf (END)
    It is to late now, time for sleep.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    FEATURES just spesify what features portage should use, for example ccache if you have emerged it...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •