Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
grep: //usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory /bin/sed: can't read //usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la: Nosuch file or directory libtool: link: `//usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la' is not a valid libtool archive make[4]: *** [libpixbufloader-tiff.la] Error 1 make[4]: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! bigjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    504944N, 01912W
    Posts
    66

    how do I cure this weird error?


    grep: //usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
    /bin/sed: can't read //usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la: Nosuch file or directory
    libtool: link: `//usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la' is not a valid libtool archive
    make[4]: *** [libpixbufloader-tiff.la] Error 1
    make[4]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gtk+-2.6.4-r1/work/gtk+-2.6.4/gdk-pixbuf'
    make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[3]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gtk+-2.6.4-r1/work/gtk+-2.6.4/gdk-pixbuf'
    make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gtk+-2.6.4-r1/work/gtk+-2.6.4/gdk-pixbuf'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/gtk+-2.6.4-r1/work/gtk+-2.6.4'
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    !!! ERROR: x11-libs/gtk+-2.6.4-r1 failed.
    !!! Function src_compile, Line 84, Exitcode 2
    !!! (no error message)
    !!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, NOT this status message.

    bash-2.05b#
    I've tried doing gcc-config 1 then fix_libtools_files.sh 3.3.5 (and 3.3.4 for that matter) and then doing re-emerging one of the packages that "errors out", but I'm still getting the error (with gnubg, firefox, thunderbird amongst others).

    regards

    John

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Are you running an ~x86 version of gcc, or are you using solely x86 packages? These unstable packages are sometimes great, but they can also break a lot of stuff. I was going to suggest running fix_libtool_files.sh, which worked for me, but I see you've already done it... Try running it without any arguments, IIRC that's how i did it...

  3. #3
    Just Joined! bigjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    504944N, 01912W
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by lakerdonald
    Are you running an ~x86 version of gcc, or are you using solely x86 packages? These unstable packages are sometimes great, but they can also break a lot of stuff. I was going to suggest running fix_libtool_files.sh, which worked for me, but I see you've already done it... Try running it without any arguments, IIRC that's how i did it...
    No, it's all just the straight stage 3 +GRP, emerge sync and emerge -uD world to bring it up to date.

    I'll go and try the fix_libtool_files.sh and report back.

    Many thanks for the quick response.

    regards

    John

  4. #4
    Just Joined! bigjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    504944N, 01912W
    Posts
    66
    bash-2.05b# fix_libtool_files.sh
    Usage: fix_libtool_files.sh [list=1] [--oldarch [list=1]]

    Where [list=1] is the version number of the
    previous gcc version. For example, if you updated to
    gcc-3.2.1, and you had gcc-3.2 installed, run:

    # fix_libtool_files.sh 3.2

    If you updated to gcc-3.2.3, and the old CHOST was i586-pc-linux-gnu
    but you now have CHOST as i686-pc-linux-gnu, run:

    # fix_libtool_files.sh 3.2 --oldarch i586-pc-linux-gnu

    Note that if only the CHOST and not the version changed, you can run
    it with the current version and the '--oldarch [list=1]' arguments,
    and it will do the expected:

    # fix_libtool_files.sh `gcc -dumpversion` --oldarch i586-pc-linux-gnu

    bash-2.05b#
    Is all that gives me.

    bash-2.05b# fix_libtool_files.sh 3.3.4
    * Scanning libtool files for hardcoded gcc library paths...
    * [1/6] Scanning /lib ...
    * [2/6] Scanning /usr/lib ...
    * [3/6] Scanning /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/lib ...
    * [4/6] Scanning /usr/kde/3.3/lib ...
    * [5/6] Scanning /usr/local/lib ...
    * [6/6] Scanning /usr/qt/3/lib ...
    bash-2.05b# fix_libtool_files.sh 3.3.3
    * Scanning libtool files for hardcoded gcc library paths...
    * [1/6] Scanning /lib ...
    * [2/6] Scanning /usr/lib ...
    * [3/6] Scanning /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/lib ...
    * [4/6] Scanning /usr/kde/3.3/lib ...
    * [5/6] Scanning /usr/local/lib ...
    * [6/6] Scanning /usr/qt/3/lib ...
    bash-2.05b# fix_libtool_files.sh 3.3.5
    * Scanning libtool files for hardcoded gcc library paths...
    * [1/6] Scanning /lib ...
    * [2/6] Scanning /usr/lib ...
    * [3/6] Scanning /usr/i686-pc-linux-gnu/lib ...
    * [4/6] Scanning /usr/kde/3.3/lib ...
    * [5/6] Scanning /usr/local/lib ...
    * [6/6] Scanning /usr/qt/3/lib ...
    bash-2.05b#
    as you can see, I've had the same thing irrespective of with gcc version I use as an arguement.

    As you can also see, from my original post, it refers to 3.3.5/libstdc++.la hence my trying 3.3.5, 3.3.4 and 3.3.3 as I don't know what else might be causing it?

    regards

    John

  5. #5
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    as a quick fix (might break things in the long run) you could try copying the libtool archive from 3.3.4 ?

  6. #6
    Just Joined! bigjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    504944N, 01912W
    Posts
    66
    Well so far, progress has been "slow".

    I found something that suggests that
    grep: //usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-pc-linux-gnu/3.3.5/libstdc++.la: No such file or directory
    probably suggests that I'd managed, or the updating/upgrading had changed the CHOST had probably changed, so I tried this
    Code:
    # fix_libtool_files.sh 3.3.4 --oldarch i586-pc-linux-gnu
    Which sort of did a similar thing to what I posted earlier but without the "oldarch" arguement.

    It appeared to get me no where.

    For reasons that I don't understand, I rebooted the system to try out some changes i'd made for grub and when on the off chance I thought I'd check which error it was throwing out now, the crafty little bugger started emerging and has been ever since.

    The ONLY difference being that instead of my usual
    Code:
    emerge -uDN world
    I did
    Code:
    emerge -uN world
    I know portage is a damned clever bit of kit, but would the difference between the -uDN and -uN make that much of a difference ?? I really don't know.

    I'm still a little unsettled, as while I'm happy that things seem to be working at the moment, I don't really understand what I've done to get it working.


    If anything changes I'll post back, but for the moment, it's doing the emerge of one of those monumental kde packages that seems to take forever!

    Many thanks for the assistance.

    regards

    John (but only slightly less confused than when I started the thread!)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •