Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hey everyone, I'm having a problem with modprobe. Whenever I run modprobe (I'm trying to load rt2500.ko) it's looking for the driver in the 2.6.11-gentoo-r3 folder BUT I'm running 2.6.11-gentoo-r8. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58

    modprobe problem


    Hey everyone,
    I'm having a problem with modprobe. Whenever I run modprobe (I'm trying to load rt2500.ko) it's looking for the driver in the 2.6.11-gentoo-r3 folder BUT I'm running 2.6.11-gentoo-r8. How did this get mixed up and can I change it?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Type

    Code:
    uname -r
    Does that say r8?

    If not, you're not in the r8 kernel.

    If it does, check that your /usr/src/linux symlink is pointing to the r8 sources. If it's not, repoint it and recompile the modules that you need.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    When I do a uname -r it says r3 but my symlink is pointing to r8. I don't understand why it isn't r8.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Make sure that your bootloader is set to boot the correct kernel image.

    Are you using GRUB or LILO?

    Either way, if you need help, post your bootloader config file. For LILO, that's /etc/lilo.conf, and for GRUB, I think it's /boot/grub/grub.conf.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Kokomo, IN
    Posts
    58
    It boots fine, but I just don't understand why uname -r is r3 and modprobe and junk. I can get it all to work it't just a pain.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Is it possible that your bootloader is booting the kernel -r3 instead of -r8.

    Check /boot/grub/menu.lst to find out what kernel is being booted.

    If it is lilo, it would be /etc/lilo.conf
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If you're using lilo and forgot to run /sbin/lilo after compiling+installing the kernel, the computer will still be booting r3. In that case, just run /sbin/lilo and reboot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •