Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
when i first started using linux i went with redhat because it was the first one id heard off. (actually it was because one of my friends dad gave me ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Newbie

why do so few ppl use gentoo

when i first started using linux i went with redhat because it was the first one id heard off. (actually it was because one of my friends dad gave me an old crappy comp with redhat 5 on it) when i was 8. 6 years later i now have 5 different distros on my computer(actually the BSD doesnt count so i guess its only 4), and the only reason i continue to use fedora is really because everyone else does. ive never actually had gentoo completely configed for my system, however i did like it and such. just curious, y do so few ppl use gentoo.

Linux User
    probably becasue of its reputation of being advanced in ways. for example, i am very new to linux and when i heard that programs had to be compiled individually or something that scared me away pretty fast. ill probably have a look at it once im more settled in to linux and know how to use its programs better. it looks pretty fun!

It's due to the installation.

The Stages 1 and 2 installs require Internet access. You have no GUI; when you boot, you go into a console. The documentation is awesome, but you still have to do EVERYTHING on your own. Even partitioning, which scares a lot of people.

Once you have it setup, it's actually pretty easy to use. You want a new app? Just go to your terminal and type "emerge <app>". Want to update your entire system?

Code:
    emerge --update --deep --newuse world
    It's quite easy to maintain, and it's uber-fast. It's tailormade for your computer, so it works very nicely.