Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: partitoning

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,626

    Could you post the contents of

    fdisk -l from the Gentoo command line
    Pick up a starving dog, prosper him, and he won't bite you.
    This is the main difference between men and dogs.

    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.

  2. #12
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    [quote="drakebasher"]
    Quote Originally Posted by whisker
    hda4 / 18.4Mb

    hda6 / 9Mb
    hda7 (future use) 9Mb
    do u mean GB instead of Mb

  3. #13
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Could you post the contents of

    fdisk -l from the Gentoo command line
    ok one sec lemme reboot

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Quote Originally Posted by whisker
    do u mean GB instead of Mb
    Crap, that's twice in one week I've been caught doing that!. Yeah: Mb for /boot and swap, Gb for the others!
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  6. #15
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    ok when i use fdisk it says:
    Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB
    240 heads, 63 sectors 5169 cylinders
    Device|boot |start |end |blocks | ID | System |
    hda1 | * | 1 |5168 | 3070048.... | 7 |HTFS/NTFS |

    cfdisk:
    Name |Flags |Type |FS Type |Label |size |
    hda1 | boot | primary |NTFS |[^D] |40007.77 MB |
    | |pri/log |Free Space| |7.75 MB |

  7. #16
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    hm dunno if u could understand that.....

  8. #17
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,626
    Understood it perfectly, you don't have a partition ready for Gentoo. You will need to resize windows.
    Do you have a livecd that has qtparted on it?
    Knoppix does.
    Pick up a starving dog, prosper him, and he won't bite you.
    This is the main difference between men and dogs.

    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.

  9. #18
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    my knoppix cd is having visual problems.....
    whoppix works though
    and i have partition magic... just dunno how to use it to make a linux partition

  10. #19
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,626
    You have PM. You don't need to make a linux partition with it.
    All you have to do is resize Windows, and make a section of free space, you don't even have to partition it.
    You will take care of that during the Gentoo install.

    Just decide how big you want the windows partition to be. 2 GB should be enough :P
    Pick up a starving dog, prosper him, and he won't bite you.
    This is the main difference between men and dogs.

    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.

  11. #20
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SA, TX
    Posts
    333
    how do i make free space with it.... :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •