Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
i'm having trouble getting into a fresh install of gentoo. this is my first time installing it. after going through the entire install handbook and rebooting i get the word ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3

    gentoo wont boot grub after install and reboot : )


    i'm having trouble getting into a fresh install of gentoo. this is my first time installing it. after going through the entire install handbook and rebooting i get the word "GRUB" repeating over and over. any ideas? thanks for your time everyone.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    read the tutorial ( http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-19999.html ) about solving boot problems with grub.

    Sounds like the stage1 part of grub (sits on the master boot record of your boot hard disk) cannot find the stage2 and grub.conf (sits in the /boot/grub/ folder). Could be that they are unreadable (easily verified by following the tutorial. Or could be that you told stage1 the wrong partition name (again look at the tutorial).

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Is it a GRUB_ prompt where you can't type anything?
    Or is it grub> where you can type.

    If it is the first, grub was not installed correctly.
    If it is the second, you can do
    "find /boot/grub/stage1"
    If you have a separate boot partition, take the /boot off.

    See Nerderello's tutorial for further instructions, as I can't remember them.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    It's the first one where I can't type anything. thanks for all of your help guys.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    3
    i did some more research and found that it is caused by my bios being set to detect my disks automatically so i set it the user type hdd. it boots into grub and now gives me a new error:

    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /kernel-2.6.11-r9 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev

    Error 15: File not found

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Do this at the grub>


    root (hd0,0) hit ENTER
    kernel (hd0,2)/k hit TAB Your kernel should have finished typing itself, hit ENTER
    initrd (hd0,2)/initrd put the kernel name in there. hit ENTER
    boot ENTER
    Then when you are in your system, you will need to add an initrd line to your grub.conf.
    initrd /initrd-name of kernel
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    I too have had that problem...but, I did a stage 3 install using the stage3-x86-2005.1.tar.bz2 file on the live cd

    Any thoughts on this ?

    I followed the handbook exactly.

    System specs.

    AMD T-Bird Processor 700 mhz
    Radeon 8500
    ASUS A7V mobo
    Western Digital 40gb hdd

    /dev/hda1 is /boot
    /dev/hda2 is swap
    /dev/hda3 is /

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by mweston
    I too have had that problem..
    Which problem?
    GRUB_
    Error 15
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5
    Grub repeating over and over after reboot...

    no prompt...

  11. #10
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I have never heard of Grub repeating over and over.
    Lilo will repeat over and over with a number like this

    L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99 L99

    But Grub will just give an error and then sit there waiting for you to respond.
    Grub has 3 ways to display an error.
    GRUB_
    grub>
    Error <number> Press any key to continue.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •