Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hello Guys, One more question. To do an update I need to do: emerge.sh right? will that do updates and such then just have it reboot? please can you advise ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    31

    Updating - Emerge


    Hello Guys,

    One more question. To do an update I need to do:

    emerge.sh right? will that do updates and such then just have it reboot? please can you advise on how to do this please. Thanks!

    under root I was thinking :

    emerge.sh ? or?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Are you talking about updating the portage tree?
    If so, use

    emerge --sync


    For more info on emerge, do

    man emerge
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If you meant updating the system, first sync like budman7 described, then update like this (as root ofcourse):
    Code:
    emerge -NuD world
    If you need something as a reminder of the command just think "emerge... nude... no 'e'...", it works for me

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    If you need something as a reminder of the command just think "emerge... nude... no 'e'...", it works for me Laughing
    hmm emerge nude *
    I will definitely need more ram :P
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    31
    I was talking about emege for the system softs ( thank you for all your kind help guys ) Its greatly thanked.

    Thanks!!

    P.S: Should I reboot after its done with all the updates?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    No reboot necessary, you might have to run /sbin/ldconfig if somethings don'tget updated.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    31
    what does:

    /sbin/ldconfig do?

    Best Regards,
    Brill

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Sometimes when you emerge things, they don't show up in the menus, you can run /sbin/ldconfig and they should show up.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    ldconfig is used for updating the libraries in the system so the programs can find them. It's good to run this if you've installed new libraries.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •