Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to Gentoo though I've tried a few other variations of linux (Fedora Core 3, Mandrake 10.1, Debian,...) and I'm having a problem updating it. I use a variation ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Enthusiast

Problem updating

I'm new to Gentoo though I've tried a few other variations of linux (Fedora Core 3, Mandrake 10.1, Debian,...) and I'm having a problem updating it.

I use a variation of Gentoo called Vidalinux, which uses a GUI program called porthole (might be universal with Gentoo, but I'm really not sure) to update through portage.

When updating Vidalinux using the new profile (2005.0) I get a couple of dependency problems (with different files that are updating) all pointing to "<www-client/mozilla-firefox-1.0-r3" as the problem.

The error within porthole says (in this case regarding app-text/ghostscript):
    Code:
     *** emerge -u --nospinner app-text/ghostscript ***
    !!! Error&#58; the <www-client/mozilla-firefox-1.0-r3 package conflicts with another package.
    !!!        both can't be installed on the same system together.
    !!!        Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers.
    I then followed it's instructions and typed, within the terminal as root, the following:
    Code:
    emerge --pretend -u --nospinner app-text/ghostscript
    and it gave me the following output:
    Code:
    These are the packages that I would merge, in order&#58;

Calculating dependencies  ...done!
    &#91;blocks B     &#93; <www-client/mozilla-firefox-1.0-r3 &#40;is blocking media-libs/freet ype-2.1.9-r1&#41;
    &#91;ebuild  N    &#93; app-crypt/hashalot-0.3
    &#91;ebuild     U &#93; sys-apps/util-linux-2.12i-r1 &#91;2.12-r4&#93;
    &#91;ebuild     U &#93; media-libs/libpng-1.2.8 &#91;1.2.7&#93;
    &#91;ebuild     U &#93; sys-devel/libtool-1.5.16 &#91;1.5.2-r5&#93;