Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901

    startx is a command, this does not get put into a file, you execute it after you login.
    To get startx to work, I will elaborate on my earlier post.
    Login as regular user
    do
    su >root password
    nano -w .xinitrc
    add this line
    exec startkde

    Now you can login ro X.
    If you get Error, no usable screens found, you will need to do "xorgconfig"
    Put all your info in, then do startx
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    19
    I got startx to work. I am typing using Konqueror from KDE right now. I was wondering if there was an init file or something (login.init??) that I could put startx in if I wanted to automaticially start xserver and log in through it.

    I also still have not figured out how to run programs that I have installed using emerge.
    Thanks for all the help

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    So you want to boot directly into graphical mode when you boot up?

    This is fairly easy.

    Firstly, we need to tell Linux that we want to use a graphical display manager. We do this by, as root:

    Code:
    vi /etc/rc.conf
    (you can, of course, use any other text editor, like nano or (*shudder*) Emacs here)

    Find the "DISPLAYMANAGER" line. Set it equal to "kdm", so:

    Code:
    DISPLAYMANAGER="kdm"
    Also, be sure that you uncomment the line if it's commented.


    Finally, we have to tell Linux to load the displaymanager on boot:

    Code:
    rc-update add xdm default
    This adds the graphical login to every runlevel.


    Also, as far as another user works, I HIGHLY recommend using a non-root user. The "su" command (which stands for "switch user", not "superuser") will let you switch to root if you need to. Basically, su without a user name assumes root, so the following will make you root:

    Code:
    su
    <ENTER ROOT PASSWORD>
    This lets you do administrative tasks even within a regular user.


    Now then, as far as running an app that you've emerged, what sort of program are you running?

    Some things, like libraries or plugins, are not run at all. But for example, if we emerge, lessay Firefox:

    Code:
    emerge mozilla-firefox
    The command to actually run Firefox is "firefox", not "mozilla-firefox".


    I hope that helps!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    The "su" command (which stands for "switch user", not "superuser") will let you switch to root if you need to
    I had always read that it was superuser.
    But switchuser does make more sense.
    If I want to switch from root to regular user. Or regular user to regular user,
    I use the su - <username> to do it.
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  6. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    19
    Thanks for the help with all of that so far. I am now able to start up some programs, but none that need graphics to use (i.e. games). It says 'unable to find display driver'. I assume this means I need a linux display driver for my vid card. Easy enough.

    Speaking of display driver, is there any way to increase the resolution of the command line interface?

    And another KDE question, can I run startx on one of my terminals (Alt-2) and still be able to access the command line interface on the others?

  7. #16
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    For what you want i think you need Alt + F7.
    Or when in X, just open a terminal, go to the K >System>Terminal
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  8. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    19
    Alt-F7 is correct to get to my gui from any other command line terminal, but how do I get back to alt-f1 through f6. Pressing the buttons from KDE doesnt do anything. Except alt-f4, that closes whatever is open.

  9. #18
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901
    Ctrl + Alt + F1-F6 will work
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  10. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    19
    So it does! Thanks for all the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •