Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Alrighty. I'm running Gentoo 2005.0, kernel 2.6.11-r11. Now then, my issue is that when I run a shutdown, I get to "Shutting down random number generator" (or is it "random ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252

    Freezing During Shutdown


    Alrighty. I'm running Gentoo 2005.0, kernel 2.6.11-r11.

    Now then, my issue is that when I run a shutdown, I get to "Shutting down random number generator" (or is it "random seed"? Whatever it is :P), and it then freezes. I have to power off the computer, and it's always an unclean shutdown.

    The thing is, it works during a restart, just not in a shutdown.


    I don't know where to start, so if anyone can help, I'd be grateful.

    I'll be back in a few days, so it might be a bit of a delayed response on my part, but thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Check your logs! See if anything is amiss in them after you restart...that's always the first place to start digging for answers.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Gracie.

    Well, I've gone through the logs in /var/log. I can't seem to find any with error messages .

    I've also tried, from the /var/log directory:

    Code:
    grep "random seed" *
    grep shutdown *
    grep "shutting down" *
    And none give me any useful information.


    Can you possibly give me any other sort of pointer?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    this may have something to do with 'acpci' & 'apm' the power management stuff ...if i enable apci on my a64 desktop i get weird **** like that ...ranging from no softboot(reset or reboot) to no complete halt (stopping in the middle of shtdown) thogh i sometimes get a "system halted" "power off" but not always and if i take out the power management module/driver all is fine (also dont have apm & acpi at the same time) that should get yo going in the rite direction
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    I went in and disabled ACPI, but I still got the freezing...

    I've also tried shutting down, then getting to the freeze, then cancelling and looking at my logs. But syslog-ng shuts down before the random seed does...

    . Any other ideas?

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Mine is the same...... until I can solve this problem, I just press the "off" button on the computer case.....

    Didn't seem to hurt anything.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Have you tried a different kernel version?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Have you tried a different kernel version?
    No I haven't .. I'm afraid I might totally screw everything up .. It's a minor irritant that I can live with

  10. #9
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    i started getting this again with the 2.6.11-gentoo-r11kernel if i use the 2.6.9 the problem is not there
    Quote Originally Posted by junkman4547
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Have you tried a different kernel version?
    No I haven't .. I'm afraid I might totally screw everything up .. It's a minor irritant that I can live with
    if it dose then you fix it

    also u cp the .config from your current kernel and use it to make the next kernel.....
    you also dont write over your working kernel so that if the new kernel is screwed you can boot the old kernel! (i have half a dozen kernels here)
    so haw can you screw it up
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Hi Loft306, as it turns out, I screwed up my Gentoo box anyway. It happens when I do

    emerge --update world

    which took about 15 hours, when I woke up the next morning
    it had stopped, the message said ....error about KDE graphic...
    or something in the nature. Afterward it would booted up to
    the point of starting KDE .... then it hung there at ...initializing
    peripherals......after a while it stopped and gave me a blank
    desk top with no icons whatsoever ! ! ! .....

    Now, I´m still deft and dumb when it comes to the nitty gritty
    of Linux..... I wouldn´t know where to begin to solve this
    problem. So I erased the whole drive and start over.....again
    for the eleventh time.........sigh.....

    The kernel that comes with my Gentoo CD is...2.6.11-r3.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •