Find the answer to your Linux question:
This is my first attempt to install Linux (let alone Gentoo). I'm trying to install Gentoo on an HP Proliant ML350 G4 with a single Intel Xeon processor and Smart ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Block device /dev/cciss/c0d0p3 is not a valid root device...

This is my first attempt to install Linux (let alone Gentoo). I'm trying to install Gentoo on an HP Proliant ML350 G4 with a single Intel Xeon processor and Smart Array 641 (3 SCSI drives in RAID 5). I'm following the handbook for x86.

I've made two attempts through the complete install, with many boot attempts each time while tweaking various settings based upon discussion of similar problems on this and other forums. The reason for the second attempt was to try changing the filesystem of my root partition from ext3 to reiserfs (to no avail). I've tried both the GRUB and LILO boot loaders with the same result. When I attempt to boot from the hard drive array, the boot goes smoothly until this point:

Code:
    >> Mounting filesystems
    >> Activating udev...
    >> Determining root device...
    >> Block device /dev/cciss/c0d0p3 is not a valid root device...
    >> The root block device is unspecified or not detected.
       Please specify a device to boot, or “shell” for a shell...
    I partitioned my hard drive array as follows:

Code:
    # fdisk /dev/cciss/c0d0

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/cciss/c0d0: 145.6 GB, 145661483520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 17709 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot   Start      End      Blocks    Id   System
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p1   *        1        5       40131    83   Linux
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p2            6       68      506047+   82   Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p3           69     1936    15004710    83   Linux
    /dev/cciss/c0d0p4         1937    17709   126696622+   83   Linux