Find the answer to your Linux question:
okay so im still really new to linux, but for the past few years ive been studying linux, ive always viewed gentoo as one of the best distros. im wondering ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

moving to gentoo

okay so im still really new to linux, but for the past few years ive been studying linux, ive always viewed gentoo as one of the best distros. im wondering how much do i need to know to know my way around this distribution. ive been using mandriva so im not exactly experienced in linux at all yet.

I'll say that gentoo is great for learning in its self

I went SuSE (for *ages*) -> Yoper (v.short time) -> Ubuntu (v.short time) -> Slack (long time [over two months]) and then onto Gentoo.

As long as you follow the handbook, the install is not too hard, and there are plenty of guids on how to set things up on gentoos site heh i skipped that stuff in the middle went strait form suse after 4 months to gentoo and from then on realy learned linux fast...
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

I found the install pretty easy, so long as you follow the Handbook EXACTLY.

That said, the distro itself I find to be a very easy one to use. Installation of new packages and maintaining the environment is very easy:

Code:
    emerge <APP_NAME>   <-- To install APP_NAME
    emerge -NuD world    <-- To update every installed package
    Also, Gentoo is EXTREMELY customizable. You only need to install what you want, and you have free and unlimited access to config files and such things. This is great when combined with the KDE 3.4 split ebuilds, allowing you to only install what apps you want (which is great for, say media, since KDE has like 47 audio apps).