Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
as I was installing gentoo step by step with the guide online, I forgot the step where I have to enter the root password so I never did, the thing ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    9

    root password?


    as I was installing gentoo step by step with the guide online, I forgot the step where I have to enter the root password so I never did, the thing is that I rebooted the system for the first time and i cant log in, not leaving the password in blank.

    Can i fix this or do I have to go back and reinstall everything again ?

    Thanks any tip will be great

    cherupop

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    no you don't have to reinstall every thing

    just boot the gentoo live cd and mount your install partition on /mnt/gentoo then do
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/gentoo
    passwd
    and set your password
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    9

    mounting install partition

    just boot the gentoo live cd and mount your install partition on /mnt/gentoo then do
    when I try to do this typing the mount command to see determine which is my root partition I get

    /newroot/dev/cdrom/cdrom0 on /mnt/cdrom type iso9660 (ro)
    /dev/loop/0 on /mnt/livecd type squashfs (ro)
    none on /proc type proc (ro,nodiratime)
    none on sys type sysfs (ro)
    none on dev type ramfs (ro)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (ro)
    tmpfs on /lib/firmware type tmpfs (ro)
    none on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (ro)

    so I don't know whic dev should mount to /mnt/gentoo

    cherupop

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    9

    got it

    It is so hard being a newbie in this , anyway I finnaly got the command for mounting my partition, this one was

    mount -t ext3 /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo

    with that I was able to chroot and passwd

    I set the password and now I'm in

    thanks for your help

    Cherupop :P

  5. #5
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I'm glad you got it set up, enjoy Gentoo
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    1,296
    note that you almost never need to include the -t option (for real devices) as mount can see what filesystem is on the disk and will do the right thing.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    15
    I've had this same problem and am just wondering why this is required? I thought not running passwd left the password as "" (i.e blank password) - could someone explain to me what is going on here?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •