Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
ccache worked at first, but after some updates it doesn't seem to do anything any more. when i run "ccache -s", the stats never change. i recently zeroed them out...but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586

    ccache not working?


    ccache worked at first, but after some updates it doesn't seem to do anything any more.

    when i run "ccache -s", the stats never change. i recently zeroed them out...but after re-emerging "gnome-system-monitor" as a test, the stats didn't show any change at all.

    i added FEATURES="ccache" and "CCACHE_SIZE='2G'" both in make.conf and also followed the second installation instructions found in "man ccache" but neither of these seemed to fix it

    if you need any info, just let me know and i'll post it up

    thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    *bump*
    does anyone have any ideas?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    noone knows?

    i can give any extra information that you might need to help me fix this...

    i'd like to get it to work so i can speed up any large updates (kdelibs, xorg, etc,..)

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Try putting this:

    Code:
    PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp/portage"
    in your /etc/make.conf. It being portage, I don't think that everything works like it would normally with ccache.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    Try putting this:

    Code:
    PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp/portage"
    in your /etc/make.conf. It being portage, I don't think that everything works like it would normally with ccache.
    hmm...that didn't work either

    i don't understand what went wrong. it worked early in my gentoo install, but once i started doing some updates it simply stopped doing anything. it was really unusual. oh well, i can live without it. i've installed enough things now that when i isntall something else or do an update it doesn't take too long, so i'm ok now

    thanks for the suggestion though!

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1
    Something must have changed recently because I came across the same problem. I fixed it by adding the CCACHE_DIR variable to make.conf.

    It seems previously that CCACHE_DIR was implicitly set when ccache was added to FEATURES. The old cache directory for portage was /var/tmp/ccache. Unfortunately, ccache -s checks the default directory which is $HOME/.ccache. You can either set CCACHE_DIR as an environment variable in your startup scripts or use my approach which was to switch the portage ccache over to /root/.ccache.

    Steps to solve:
    1) add CCACHE_DIR="/root/.ccache" to /etc/make.conf
    2) ccache -z -C [clear cache and zero stats]

    Now try emerging something and testing with ccache -s.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by rikster
    Something must have changed recently because I came across the same problem. I fixed it by adding the CCACHE_DIR variable to make.conf.

    It seems previously that CCACHE_DIR was implicitly set when ccache was added to FEATURES. The old cache directory for portage was /var/tmp/ccache. Unfortunately, ccache -s checks the default directory which is $HOME/.ccache. You can either set CCACHE_DIR as an environment variable in your startup scripts or use my approach which was to switch the portage ccache over to /root/.ccache.

    Steps to solve:
    1) add CCACHE_DIR="/root/.ccache" to /etc/make.conf
    2) ccache -z -C [clear cache and zero stats]

    Now try emerging something and testing with ccache -s.
    that worked!

    thanks a lot!

  8. #8
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271
    This worked for me: Ccache Troubleshooting.
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  9. #9
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Good find.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    3
    thanks rikster for that info!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •