Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
hmm...this thread really got me thinking and now i'm taking a few steps to also tweak my system (i had tons of use flags, but wanted to try something a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586

    hmm...this thread really got me thinking and now i'm taking a few steps to also tweak my system (i had tons of use flags, but wanted to try something a little more direct).

    i've been using ccache for a while (speeds up compiling a lot), i'm now running "emerge --emptytree", and then i will set up prelinking (which seems to speed up loading times of programs a lot).

    link to prelinking: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/prelink-howto.xml

  2. #12
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    Well I just read the Gentoo Wiki page by page, I learned a lot today.

    The emerge --emptytree is now on package 287 out of 330, whoo.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Lucky bum...

    I'm on 19 out of 411 .


    But thanks to you all for posting this. This may open me to the world of modding . If nothing else, I can at least get faster compilation times. Which is always good.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    OK, so here's my new and update /etc/make.conf:
    Code:
    # These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically built$# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example
    CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -pipe -O3"
    CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
    CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
    MAKEOPTS="-j3"
    GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org/ ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/di$SYNC="rsync://rsync.us.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
    ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="x86 ~x86"
    FEATURES="distlocks ccache"
    CCACHE_SIZE="2G"
    PORTAGE_NICENESS="15"
    I think that it's still a bit minimal but it's looking good, afterwards I ran emerge -e world and now I'm doing emerge -e system, when this is all through the compile times will be faster? I just hope I didn't waste an entire day doing emerge -e world. what exactly does this do, and how often should I run it?
    Registered Linux user #393103

  6. #15
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586

    my "emerge --emptytree world" is taking foreverrr

    i'm on 84 of 616 and it's been doing this for over 7 hours now

    it's far enough in to make me want to keep going, but at this pace it may well take all of tomorrow to finish

  7. #16
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    So, last night, I hit an error.

    Apparently, my kernel was not sufficiently configured for svgalib. I dunno what that means, since my kernel is quite configured, thank you.

    So I get to start over! YAY!!!

  8. #17
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    So, last night, I hit an error.

    Apparently, my kernel was not sufficiently configured for svgalib. I dunno what that means, since my kernel is quite configured, thank you.

    So I get to start over! YAY!!!
    with "emerge --emptytree"?

    you can do "emerge --resume --emptytree" to start where you were. i also hit an error (i didn't have gnome support enabled for pygtk??..apparently it's needed by porthole), so i unmerged porthole and did "emerge --resume --emptytree" to start where i was.

  9. #18
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    ...now you tell me . I'm at work now. Grrrr.

    Yeah, I unmerged libsvga, so hopefully it'll work this time.

    Also, I enabled ccache just before doing the emerge --emptytree, so hopefully it will get back to that point much faster.

  10. #19
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    hmm..ran into a problem (seems related to this thread).

    i ran "emerge --emptytree"...not a problem. i'm using ccache also, which is nice because it will have cached everything installed on my systme .

    anyways...onto the problem. every time it does:
    Code:
    * Adjusting permissions on ccache in /root/.ccache
    it takes forever to do it. i mean, literally 5-10 minutes each time and it does this roughly 4 times per emerge. i have over 450 to go and i will be wasting a lot of time waiting for it to do this.

    i've also noticed that my harddrive goes crazy when it does that. i'm not sure what's wrong...

  11. #20
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by josolanes
    hmm..ran into a problem (seems related to this thread).

    i ran "emerge --emptytree"...not a problem. i'm using ccache also, which is nice because it will have cached everything installed on my systme .

    anyways...onto the problem. every time it does:
    Code:
    * Adjusting permissions on ccache in /root/.ccache
    it takes forever to do it. i mean, literally 5-10 minutes each time and it does this roughly 4 times per emerge. i have over 450 to go and i will be wasting a lot of time waiting for it to do this.

    i've also noticed that my harddrive goes crazy when it does that. i'm not sure what's wrong...
    fixed it...seemed easy enough. i just gave everyone full access to this directory so that it doesn't have to change permissions . it also seems like ccache is caching more than it used to (i emerge over 100 things before and was at around 800 megs of cache...now it's caching a lot more than it used to)

    background on this...i had trouble getting ccache to work with emerge before and someone suggested changing the ccache directory to /root/.ccache. apparently emerge didn't have the permissions necessary to access it and would waste a lot of time trying to, so i gave everyone full access to this directory (regardless of whatever security risks there may be) and now it's running through the emerges without even showing that message

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •