Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
How do I get gentoo to boot with no mouse keyboard or monitor?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    29

    Mouse


    How do I get gentoo to boot with no mouse keyboard or monitor?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    you can physicaly remove them.... and then push the power button... and then if you need to access teh computer use ssh
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    29
    Well its a pain in the ass to go get a mouse from upstairs to reboot the computer when the power goes out...Also if the power goes out when im not thome it won't boot up and server will be down for a while.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What are the errors you get when you boot without a mouse?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    127.0.0.1
    Posts
    29
    On slackware it used to repeat crap down the screen real fast and I couldnt see it. On gentoo live cd and when its installed to the hdd the screen just goes blank.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    hmmm that is weird i have 4 puters headless and no kb or mouse on them and they boot fine
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    well, if you really need to you can always get a really cheap mouse and just have it plugged in doing nothing


    i do that with a keyboard since i use a usb one most of the time but my motherboard doesn't find it....so i have a normal ps/2 keyboard plugged in doing nothing and hiding in the back of it

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •