Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
when i restart computer i have to tell it to start the cups dameon. i dont want to....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317

    auto start cupsd


    when i restart computer i have to tell it to start the cups dameon. i dont want to.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Vergil83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,407
    Brilliant Mediocrity - Making Failure Look Good

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Code:
    rc-update add cupsd default
    then you can see what servires are started with the command
    Code:
    rc-status
    for the default runlevel or
    Code:
    rc-status boot
    for the boot runlevel or
    Code:
    rc-update show
    will show them like this
    Code:
     # rc-update show
               alsasound | boot                          
                 apache2 |      default                  
                   aumix |                               
              autoconfig |                               
                bootmisc | boot                          
                 bttrack |                               
                 checkfs | boot                          
               checkroot | boot                          
                   clock | boot                          
                coldplug |      default                  
             consolefont | boot                          
             crypto-loop |                               
                   cupsd |      default                  
                ddclient |      default                  
                 distccd |                               
              domainname |      default                  
                entrance |
    this is a small sample of all the init scripts on my box and what level they run at if any
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    Runlevel: default
    cupsd [ off ] local [ started ] syslog-ng [ started ] domainname [ started ] net.eth0 [ started ] netmount [ started ]

    is it suspose to be off when not in use? also, i dont have alsa sound startup on boot. its also not running right now. is there an advantage to having it start on boot? if so, is it just rc-update add alsasound boot?
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  6. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    i run my alsa as a module i use the alsa-driver most ppl run it as internal in the kernel the reason for running it as a module is that the kernel alsa isnt updated as often as the module

    asfar as cupsd just run it all the time let it start default
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  7. #6
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    does running it as a module let you restart it if ever you have a problem with it. i run mine internaly and ive had quite a few occasions where something would grab alsa and not let go. i would have to reasart the entire system to get it back. is there a better way?
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

  8. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Quote Originally Posted by benjamin20
    does running it as a module let you restart it if ever you have a problem with it. i run mine internaly and ive had quite a few occasions where something would grab alsa and not let go. i would have to reasart the entire system to get it back. is there a better way?
    shure dose! but running it as a module you have te re-emerge alsa-driver after you compile or recompile a kernel...everytime
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  9. #8
    Linux User benjamin20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    jacksonville beach FL
    Posts
    317
    i hate that about the nvidia kernel. mabye a neato little shell script could be run after update.
    nVidia G-Force 6600GT (bfg) pci-e: amd 64 2000+ (939): 1024 corsair ram: 2X 80gb seagate harddisk SATA: plextor cd/dvd-read/write cdrom SATA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •