Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey I am a real noob with linux so sorry if this sounds stupid. I decided to take the plunge and try and learn linux so i started with gentoo ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo Noob Problem

Hey

I am a real noob with linux so sorry if this sounds stupid. I decided to take the plunge and try and learn linux so i started with gentoo as i would get into the right guts of it. So everything went ok and i followed the guide on the gentoo site the problem is when i try to boot up into gentoo. I used grub so i select gentoo then lots a rubbish comes up on the screen and some green "Ok"'s but then i hit a brick wall.

I get a error message that tells me:

"No such file or directory while trying to open dev/ROOT/Dev/root

The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is vaild and it really contains and ext2 filesystem then the superblock is corrupt and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:

e2fsck -b8193<device>"

But my root partition is ext3 as the gentoo guide told me to make it that (http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbo...?part=1&chap=10)
    So anyhelp would be great

Thanks in advance

Linux Engineer
    either you did not edit the /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab or you forgot to include support for your root filesystem IN the kernel NOT as a module!

Just Joined!
    yeah...lets see your /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab

Just Joined!
    Its ok guys i got it Cant remeber what i did but its all OK now

Thanks anyways

Just Joined!
    Hey Peve,
    I dont mean to be an ass, but the Idea of these forums is to ask for help and also to post the solutions when found to help others, some of whose help you may require in the future.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by skrye
    Hey Peve,