Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
Its an old computer so It won't boot the live cd I have a cd drive on it also and there is no option in the bios and the smart ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130

    Its an old computer so It won't boot the live cd
    I have a cd drive on it also and there is no option in the bios and the smart boot manager won't work either
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  2. #12
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Cheetahman, this page has all the info you need.
    http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/altinstall.xml

    They have boot floppies, using knoppix to install Gentoo(I have yet to try this, but it looks really cool), and other stuff.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Good but the SmartBootManager and Knoppix method don't work

    Burn an Install CD iso.
    Could I use the Gentoo 2005.1 for this

    Take the floppy to the computer that has fast access. If you take a look at the stage1.list file, you'll see that it provides you with several URLs to download. Sadly, it lists several possible URLs for each package as well, which isn't what you want. Strip all but one of the URLs first:

    Code Listing 4.3: Stripping URLs
    What do they mean by this

    Also this old computer has Slackware 10.2 on it
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Used df in Slackware 10.2 and got

    Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use Mounted On
    /dev/hda1 1134540 403076 672904 32% /
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  5. #15
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Good but the SmartBootManager and Knoppix method don't work
    Please explain why not.
    It seems to me this is exactly what you are looking for.
    As for stripping urls, it probably means just selecting one url and deleting all of the others.

    But if I were you I would use the Knoppix livecd to install Gentoo.
    I know other people have done this, so I know it works. As to why it doesn't work for you, you probably just missed typing in one of the commands.

    If you miss typing in a command during the installation of Gentoo, you are gong to have a rough go of it.
    That is why I recommend using Knoppix to install Gentoo, as you will be able to copy and paste commands in to the terminal.
    And ready access to the handbook is a great help, it needs to be followed EXACTLY, DO NOT DEVIATE FROM THE HANDBOOK.
    Have fun installing Gentoo, once it is installed, you will be very happy with it.
    Did I mention that you should follow the handbook very closely?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Good but the SmartBootManager and Knoppix method don't work
    Please explain why not.
    It seems to me this is exactly what you are looking for.
    As for stripping urls, it probably means just selecting one url and deleting all of the others.

    But if I were you I would use the Knoppix livecd to install Gentoo.
    I know other people have done this, so I know it works. As to why it doesn't work for you, you probably just missed typing in one of the commands.

    If you miss typing in a command during the installation of Gentoo, you are gong to have a rough go of it.
    That is why I recommend using Knoppix to install Gentoo, as you will be able to copy and paste commands in to the terminal.
    And ready access to the handbook is a great help, it needs to be followed EXACTLY, DO NOT DEVIATE FROM THE HANDBOOK.
    Have fun installing Gentoo, once it is installed, you will be very happy with it.
    Did I mention that you should follow the handbook very closely?
    Smartboot Manager works but just doesn't detect the cd drive and if it won't detect the cd then the knoppix method won't work if the computer can't boot cds this could be because the bios is old and there are no more updates to it since intel doesn't support it any more.Also what commands are you refering to
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  7. #17
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Here are the specs on it

    Midwest Micro

    Pentium 90Mhz
    32Mb Ram
    2MB ATI Graphics card
    Cd Drive NEC-CDR-260,NEC CD-ROM Drive 260
    3.5 Floppy
    Has Turbo
    1GB hard drive
    Amibios

    No Internet,Usb,Firewire,PS/2 but has expansion slots to add these in

    Knoppix probably won't run on it
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  8. #18
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Knoppix probably won't run on it
    You are correct. But Slax might, if you can get it to boot from cd.

    http://slax.linux-live.org/requirements.php

    Once you get Slax to boot you can use the directions for the Knoppix install, as the directions will be the same for Knoppix or Slax or any livecd.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #19
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Knoppix probably won't run on it
    You are correct. But Slax might, if you can get it to boot from cd.

    http://slax.linux-live.org/requirements.php

    Once you get Slax to boot you can use the directions for the Knoppix install, as the directions will be the same for Knoppix or Slax or any livecd.
    It could but it can't boot from cd only floppy
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Do you think the slackware boot cds could boot slax because its baded on slackware.
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •