Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
After 3 tries at installing gentoo I finally got it done, but: When first botting after the install I get this error: mounting proc at /proc .... [ oops ] ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    mount: command not found


    After 3 tries at installing gentoo I finally got it done, but:

    When first botting after the install I get this error:

    mounting proc at /proc .... [ oops ]

    line 17: mount: command not found

    since this is a critical task, startup cannot continue.

    Then I entered password and get a prompt:

    (none) ~ #

    Any help on how to fix this would be highly appreciated!
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Hm.. I forgot a little how to use the emerge command. You can take a look at the emerge manpage and look for the option that lets you find what package installs "/bin/mount".

    Hope this helps..
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    Code:
    emerge --searchdesc mount
    that'll give you a list of packages to install
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Thanks alot for the replies. I tried that. I don't quite understand. I get a list of dev-libs/libff
    and dev-php/mod_php-4.4.0

    I cannot emerge these. Is there a command package I can emerge? And do I have to be in a specific directory to do this? Please help, I am totally brand new to gentoo, and linux. Although I know windows and computer hardware extremely well. This is just so fustratiung, I followed the manual exactly. I want to get into gentoo to learn. Is there an on-line document or manual that I can read to familiarize myself with gentoo, and/or troubleshooting.

    Thanks again for any help.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    if you use this command, I belive it will install/update whatever package "mount" lies in:
    Code:
    emerge --sync; emerge -NuD system

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Hey thank you so much jaboua!! Got me past that error! I had two other errors which I was able to fix on my own. I am now able to boot up all the way!! Thanks again! I have network, and everything else I need (I think).

    Two more questions though if someone might be so gracious as to answer. I get a fatal error on boot up (but I guess its not that bad if I boot all the way) its
    Module dm_mod not found
    should I be concerened, if so, how can I fix this?

    Also, when I log in as a user al, not root, it says no /home/al
    Whats that all about?

  8. #7
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    The module dm_mod error is likely due to a kernel issue. Did you use genkernel? If not (as I would hope), you need to go through and find whatever is called dm_mod and compile it as a module.

    Unfortunately, I dunno where to look. Probably under Device Drivers somewhere.

    Good luck!

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13
    Ok no problem, I can find that. So I just re-do the kernel, then follow the same instructions in the handbook for installing it? I started from a stage 1, and I did my own kernel yes. I am emerging gnome now, so I'll wait on that. But I am learning alot, and getting the hang of it. Thanks everyone!

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by al93535
    Also, when I log in as a user al, not root, it says no /home/al
    Whats that all about?
    Code:
    su -c "mkdir /home/al; chown al:users /home/al"
    That should work, assuming the group is called "users". If not, just replace the ":users" with ":groupname". Also, make sure that the user al is in the right groups, particulary groups like video and audio. If not, change it in /etc/group

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •