Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
when im installing packages using emerge, i dont remember exactly what it said but it had something to do with the mirrors being wrong. i have tried installing it 4 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590

    help installing


    when im installing packages using emerge, i dont remember exactly what it said but it had something to do with the mirrors being wrong. i have tried installing it 4 times today with all different mirrors and it still didnt work. Gentoo 2005.1

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I can't remember the syntax, but you could try updating your mirror list with "mirrorselect". You'll have to look it up in the gentoo handbook.....

    Hold on.....

    Here it is. The handbook's instructions on using mirrorselect during the initial installation.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Unless you're behind a firewall, the default mirror should work... If you are behind a firewall, the webrsync might do it

  4. #4
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    try commenting or removing the line for the mirrors in '/etc/make.conf' and letting it default to the main server to check if the mirrors simply havent sync'd yet
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Unless you're behind a firewall, the default mirror should work... If you are behind a firewall, the webrsync might do it
    i dont think im behind a firewall, i already tried 4 or 5 different mirrors, different times, and when i use webrsync says sumtin like, no md5sum....dont really remember the rest. stayed up all night and all morning and afternoon writing down all the instructions and trying to get everything to work, i was kind of out of it. lol

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by crashandburn0420
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Unless you're behind a firewall, the default mirror should work... If you are behind a firewall, the webrsync might do it
    i dont think im behind a firewall, i already tried 4 or 5 different mirrors, different times, and when i use webrsync says sumtin like, no md5sum....dont really remember the rest. stayed up all night and all morning and afternoon writing down all the instructions and trying to get everything to work, i was kind of out of it. lol
    Do you think you can get us the exact error?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •