Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
do i need to configure the USE flags for a stage 3 install...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590

    USE flags {solved}


    do i need to configure the USE flags for a stage 3 install

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    If you compile something then you still need the USE flags, that's my guess.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    My guess is it's a good idea to include some supports for future programs you might want to install. The handbook, 2005.0 in my case, gives some examples for qt KDE supports.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    Yes, you will need to manually add USE flags to /etc/make.conf as per the handbook, there is a list, not sure which one it is but you can find it in the make.conf man page, that includes several of them that are important...if you want a gnome system you would include things like gtk, gnome, -kde, -qt, alsa, cdr, etc, etc, etc...
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    does it matter where i put the USE flags

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    No, I don't think it matters.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  7. #7
    Content Team
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Colorado USA
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by crashandburn0420
    does it matter where i put the USE flags
    Yes, if you put them in /etc/make.conf then they affect the entire system. If you add them to /etc/portage/package.use they only evvect the package that you associate them with. Then you have the whole auto use thing and the optional variable for /etc/make.conf: USE_ORDER="envkg:conf:auto:defaults" that can totally re-arrange the way that USE flags are interepted. I hate it when my computer makes decisions for me so I removed all auto and default USE flags so that they never come into play. That means that I have to explicitly set them all though.

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    thanks but i already got this installed and working good. ill just add solved so no on else posts

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    You can always change your USE flags at any time and update your system with

    Code:
    emerge --newuse -uav world
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •