Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all. I'm new to Gentoo (and in fact to Linux in general). I decided to install it on an old machine of mine to learn more about it. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gentoo nVidia problems

Hi all.

I'm new to Gentoo (and in fact to Linux in general). I decided to install it on an old machine of mine to learn more about it. I managed to get through the installation in the end, but I'm now stuck and would appreciate some assistance.

I've been following the Gentoo Linux nVidia Guide (here) and the X Server Configuration HowTo (here) but when I get to the point when I run X I get the following errors:

Code:
    NVIDI(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
    NVIDI(0): *** Aborting ***
    Screen(s) found, but none have a useable configuration.
    Can anyone offer any help? I've looked around and seen that a lot of people have problems with the nvidia drivers, but I'm not sure where to go from here.

I can provide more info about things, if you tell me what might be useful...

Just Joined!
    miceless,

I'd ask you for more info if you were in a GUI enviroment and could copy/paste stuff, but I'm going to take a pot-shot and say you probably didn't reemerge nvidia-kernel after compiling your kernel, and probably have a version mismatch. To check this out, do a
    Code:
    modinfo nvidia
    At the end of this will be a line for version-magic, make sure it matches your kernel version (see uname -a). If this is all good, it most likely a typo/error in your xorg.conf that you've overlooked. Make sure you're using the "nvidia" driver NOT "nv." If you still have a problem, post the following:

uname -a
    xorg.conf
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    dmesg (if you feel the need)