Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hello all, I seem to be having a bit of difficulty getting my settings right. Okay, here's the background. I have a Dell Inspiron 600M with the Broadcom 57xx ethernet ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nowhere and Everywhere
    Posts
    98

    Need help tweaking my /etc/conf.d/net...(SOLVED)


    Hello all,
    I seem to be having a bit of difficulty getting my settings right. Okay, here's the background.

    I have a Dell Inspiron 600M with the Broadcom 57xx ethernet card, and the Intel PRO2200 b/g miniPCI wireless card. I connect to the internet at home via the Linksys WRT54G wireless router, which also has 4 ethernet ports. Now, I installed everything properly and everything works properly (sort of). Now I'm sure that you're probably wondering (so what's the problem), well here goes.

    Whenever I boot with my ethernet cable plugged in everything is a okay, but when I boot without my ethernet cable plugged in I get this:
    Code:
     *      Bringing up eth0
    *          dhcp
    *              Running dhcpcd...                                                                                                                                       [!!]
    * ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
    *               "netmount" was not started.
    * ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
    *               "ntp-client" was not started.
    * ERROR: Problem starting needed services.
    *               "sshd" was not started.
    ...Now, just so you know my ethernet is seen as "eth0", and my wireless is seen as "eth1". So after my system finishes booting I can only get an internet connection(wirelessly) by typing this:
    Code:
    # dhcpcd eth1
    ...and presto I'm connected, so what I would like to accomplish is for my system to acknowledge my wireless card when I don't have my ethernet cable plugged in automatically.
    I've already looked high and low for an answer, and I have posted several posts on the Gentoo forums but to no avail, so I figured I would try my luck here. Hopefully someone here can point me in the right direction, any suggestions.....

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    36
    in /etc/conf.d/net do you have

    Code:
    eth1=( "dhcp" )
    and net.eth1 added to the default run level?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nowhere and Everywhere
    Posts
    98
    Wow that was fast,
    you know it took over 24hrs on the Gentoo forums to get a response, not that I'm really complaining or anything like that, but, anyway .

    Okay, heres how I set it up the first time with "wireless-tools":
    Code:
    #
    iface_eth0="dhcp"
    dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
    #
    modules=( "iwconfig" )
    iwconfig_eth1="-ipw2200"
    ...Then I tried this:
    Code:
    #
    iface_eth0="dhcp"
    dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
    #
    modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
    wpa_supplicant_eth1="-ipw2200"
    ...Many failed attempts and different combinations later, I'm now at this:
    Code:
    #
    iface_eth0="dhcp"
    dhcpcd_eth0="-t 10"
    #
    fallback_eth1="dhcp"
    config_eth1=( "dhcp" )
    dhcpcd_eth1="-t 10"
    #
    modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
    wpa_supplicant_eth1="-ipw2200"
    ....If you can see what I'm doing wrong please feel free to point it out, cause I feel blind

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    36
    Well before we go any futher have you run

    Code:
    rc-update add net.eth1 default
    ?

    On your first post it shows that the system tries to activate eth0 and when it fails it does not try to activate eth1 before disabling all items that depend on networking.

    If you have we can take a good look at config files, dmesg and kernel modules, etc.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nowhere and Everywhere
    Posts
    98
    Well here's what I get when I do that:
    Code:
    # rc-update add net.eth1 default
    * /sbin/rc-update: /etc/init.d/net.eth1 not found; aborting.
    ...Yeah, I originally searched for an init script such as "net.eth0", that would apply to eth1, but to no avail. I still think that it this has something to do "/etc/conf.d/net", but I haven't been able to find a combination that works...

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    36
    Do you have any /etc/init.d/net.* script? If you do you can link to it for eth1

    Code:
    cd /etc/init.d
    ln -s net.eth0 (or whatever file you do have) net.eth1
    rc-update add net.eth1 default
    Without a init.d script the system will not try to start the interface (and thus will not try to read the conf.d/net file for that interface)

  7. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    isnt it wonderful how all the syntax has changed in /etc/conf.d/net
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nowhere and Everywhere
    Posts
    98
    Hey KG6KVQ,
    By adding that symlink from net.eth0 to net.eth1, will that affect how my system works when I'm plugged into an ethernet cable?

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nowhere and Everywhere
    Posts
    98
    Ok, it seems to pick up the connection just fine with "wireless-tools" just fine. For some reason when I had "wpa_supplicant" set up in my "/etc/conf.d/net", I still had to do it manually via:
    Code:
    # dhcpcd eth1
    ...However, as a quick fix I changed my "/etc/conf.d/net" file to use "iwconfig", then I rebooted and SHAZAAM, the process is now automated.
    Thanx a whole lot there KG6KVQ, I can't believe that I had to go to a "non-official" Gentoo forum to fix an "Official" Gentoo issue.
    As far as "encryption" and WPA goes I guess I'll startup another thread concerning "wpa_supplicant" if it gets a little too sticky for me to figure it out on my own

    I guess I'm going to have to spend a little more time out on these forums to broaden my Linux knowledge, Thanx again...

    Oh btw, do I have to put solved in parentheses in the title bar like in the gentoo forums, ethier way I'll do it out of courtesy for the maintainers.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1

    net.eth1 start times out...

    Hi!

    I have a problem. My net.eth1 script times out but i have no problem running wpa_supplicant "manually" and then doing dhcpcd eth1.

    /etc/conf.d/net:
    config_eth1=("dhcp")
    modules=("wpa_supplicant")
    wpa_supplicant_eth1="-Dwext"
    wpa_timeout_eth1=60

    Does anyone have a clue? Please tell me what i need to tell you for you
    to help me =)

    The output from /etc/init.d/net.eth1 start
    * Starting eth1
    * Starting wpa_supplicant on eth1 [ ok ]
    * timed out [ !! ]

    Between the two last lines there is a delay of around 60s. When i look
    in wpa_gui i can see that eth1 is associated with my AP and so far
    everything looks fine. As there is no additional output from the script
    i can't draw any conclusions as of what the problem might be. When
    manually runnning wpa_supplicant and then dhcpcd my connection works
    fine!

    Plz help!

    //Lynx-D



    EDIT:
    I found a solution:
    http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=130104

    Thanks!

    //Lynx-D

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •