Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
How would i open torrent files?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590

    torrent files


    How would i open torrent files?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    With Azureus :
    http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/a...r.bz2?download

    Or any other torrents client...
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    Azureus is a real resource hog (at least .. thatīs my experience with Azureus) (Azureus is java based)
    So I use BitTorrent:

    On your desktop open a terminal.

    Code:
    su
    + passw

    I used yum to install BitTorrent but you can get an rpm package here:

    http://www.bittorrent.com/

    you can choose (if you have Firefox) whether to install the package or you can save it somewhere else (like ... /home/you) and untar the package + install it manually

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --destination-port 6881:6999 -j ACCEPT

    This adds a rule to open TCP ports 6881 through 6999 in your firewall. These ports are required by Bittorent.


    Code:
    /sbin/iptables-save > /etc/sysconfig/iptables
    This saves the rule.

    If you want to open torrent files with firefox you have to do this:

    Code:
    gedit /etc/mailcap
    I donīt know if you have gedit .. but you must implement this rule (see below) in /etc/mailcap.

    Code:
     # bittorrent
    application/x-bittorrent; /usr/bin/bittorrent %s; test=test -n "$DISPLAY"
    Add this line (donīt forget to add a carriage return!)

    Log out .. Log in .. and youīre ready to d/l torrent files!

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by Infinity
    Azureus is a real resource hog (at least .. thatīs my experience with Azureus) (Azureus is java based)
    You are right about this one. In fact, it is a memory hog... it does take a lot of ram. Still, I think it is a really nice piece of software.

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p tcp --destination-port 6881:6999 -j ACCEPT

    This adds a rule to open TCP ports 6881 through 6999 in your firewall. These ports are required by Bittorent.


    Code:
    /sbin/iptables-save > /etc/sysconfig/iptables
    This saves the rule.
    Hey, that's cool. I have to admit I didn't knew about that

    But, one thing... I never did this, and Azureus is working like a charm... I guest iptables isn't on in Debian Sarge by default. (I have a router, I'll be fine.)

    That's all very neat, I'll take note of all this iptables thing. Thanks!
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Hey, that's cool. I have to admit I didn't knew about that

    But, one thing... I never did this, and Azureus is working like a charm... I guest iptables isn't on in Debian Sarge by default. (I have a router, I'll be fine.)

    That's all very neat, I'll take note of all this iptables thing. Thanks!
    no problem...

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables -L | less
    This will output your iptables file.

    Azureus also needs another port to be open to be able to function normally.

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables -I INPUT -p udp --destination-port 6881:6881 -j ACCEPT
    This adds a rule to open UDP (the other was tcp) port 6881 in your firewall.

    Code:
    /sbin/iptables-save > /etc/sysconfig/iptables
    Saves the rule

    Cheers...

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    i have a dvd season in a torrent file. i already installed bittorrent. how would i watch them?

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    Why would you ever use yum on a Gentoo system?

    Code:
    emerge qtorrent
    Will get you QTorrent, a fairly light and usable bittorrent client. Now go into your client and open the bittorrent file. It will begin downloading. It will take a long time to download so be patient!
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    .nl
    Posts
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by Dachnaz
    Why would you ever use yum on a Gentoo system?

    Code:
    emerge qtorrent
    Will get you QTorrent, a fairly light and usable bittorrent client. Now go into your client and open the bittorrent file. It will begin downloading. It will take a long time to download so be patient!
    Iīve never claimed that he should use yum.. I only said that I used yum to get BitTorrent. I gave him an rpm package to install it. Anyway, emerge ... I forgot about that though.

    @ crashandburn0420

    have you d/l it already ?? cause a whole dvd season (doesnīt really matter what it is) is usually quite big (+4 gb) that takes a few days to d/l.

    You can play the d/l files (movies etc. like my own Anime series) with VLC ... the files are usually in .avi format. Sometimes though the package is filled with .rar files, there should be a tool inside the package that puts the packages back together (after you opened the rar files ... )

    Code:
    emerge video-lan client
    (?)

    something like that ... or you can d/l an rpm package and install it manually.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    or you can d/l an rpm package and install it manually.
    Gentoo uses portage not rpm's.

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    I believe you could install the package manager that uses .rpm files on Gentoo. Something to read up on at least!
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •