Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
...... I tried Gentoo. The problem is that I cannot get the darn thing connected to the net. I have tried most of the proposed solutions on this and other ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132

    I thought I was getting the hang of Linux until.......


    ...... I tried Gentoo.

    The problem is that I cannot get the darn thing connected to the net.

    I have tried most of the proposed solutions on this and other boards, as well as several how to's found through Google. And I still can't see the network.

    I originally went with a stage 3 install using genkernel. However I later re-compiled the kernel to include via support for my ethernet card (via_rhine worked in Slack 10.1 and 10.2) thinking that this may be the problem. But that did not help.

    I get this error at the end of the boot screen, just before the login prompt appears:

    Code:
    INIT: Entering Runlevel: 3
    * Starting syslog-ng          [ok]
    * Starting eth0                 [ok]
    * Bringing up eth0
    *    dhcp
    *    Running dhcpcd           [!!]
    * Starting vixie-cron          [ok]
    * Starting local...
    * Failed to start local          [!!]
    (Sorry about the formatting, I am having to copy it longhand)

    My /etc/conf.d/net looks like this:

    Code:
    iface_eth0="dhcp"
    and my resolv.conf is definately set to the IP of our gateway as declared by our smoothwall (worked in Slack).

    I really don't know what else to try so any help would be appreciated.

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    36
    Any errors in /var/log/messages?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    Yes, it would appear so.

    There is an entry that says:

    Code:
    dhcpStart: interface eth0 is not Ethernet or 802.2 Token Ring
    followed on the next line by:

    Code:
    gentoo eth1394: eth0: IEEE-1394 IPv4 over 1394 Ethernet.......
    So I assume from this that the system has assigned eth0 to firewire, rather than ethernet.

    How can I rectify that please, if indeed that is the problem. I cannot see any other errors in /var/log/messages.

    Thanks for the help.

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    make sure you did pick the rhine driver
    mine works fine in gentoo
    and its a rhine chipset
    i aint a clue

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    I managed to get the output of "ifconfig -a" and "lspci" onto a floppy.

    Here are the outputs if they help at all:

    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-50-8D-00-00-FE-87-8B-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
              BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    ***Note the corrupted mac address (extra eight zeros) for eth0***

    and lspci:

    Code:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 PCI Bridge
    00:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
    00:0e.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
    00:0e.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 50)
    00:0e.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 51)
    00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
    00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
    00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
    00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 74)
    00:13.0 RAID bus controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT374 (rev 07)
    00:13.1 RAID bus controller: Triones Technologies, Inc. HPT374 (rev 07)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV25 [GeForce4 Ti 4600] (rev a3)
    Regards

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I had a very similar problem with the network on gentoo and I managed to solve it with the help of a few people on this forum. Here's the link

    To cut to the chase, here's how I solved it,
    The /etc/conf.d/net should read,
    Code:
    ifconfig_eth0=( "dhcp" )
    Hope that helps.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    104
    bubo, in slack i had a integrated 1000Mbit LAN and was having the same sort of troubles. Remember if you have VIA 1000Mbit networking to use the VIA velocity driver.
    My New years Resolution is 1280x1024

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    Thanks smolloy

    Yours was one of the post's that I read. I tried everything apart from taking stuff out of the kernel.

    Unless anyone can suggest different, I will recompile the kernel and take out IEEE1394 support (for now) as I don't really use firewire. I will then see if the system will point to the ethernet, not IEEE for net access.

    Any other suggestions gratefully received. This my third install with the same problem each time so I don't think a fresh install will help.

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Malvern, UK
    Posts
    132
    Thanks samoth

    I think this is a gentoo config (or new gentoo user more like) problem, rather than hardware, as I have just popped my slack drive nback in the same machine and network came straight up.

    Thanks for the tip though.

    Bubo
    My Computer Once Beat Me at Chess, but it is No Match for Me at Kickboxing !

    Registered Linux User: #417183

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    112
    You might try booting Gentoo up, letting it fail to start the intarnetz, and do

    Code:
    ifconfig
    It should read nothing at all about eth0, or if it does it should be totally borked/wrong. Then do

    Code:
    net-setup eth1
    Once in a while you get a system that uses eth1. This might just work for you. It's worth trying.
    --Dachnaz [Fuzzy Llama]

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •