Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I have just finished migrating from GCC3.3 to 3.4 as in these instructions . I chose the second (longer option). After completing this I have noticed two problems. 1/ When ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414

    Problems after GCC migration


    I have just finished migrating from GCC3.3 to 3.4 as in these instructions. I chose the second (longer option).

    After completing this I have noticed two problems.
    1/ When booting into Gentoo I get a lot of error messages like the following,
    Code:
    rm: Unable to remove: '/sys/...': Operation not permitted
    Hundreds of similar messages scroll by very quickly, each one with a different file in /sys
    2/ idesk will not start. If I try to run it from a terminal it gives the following message,
    Code:
    smolloy@tux ~ $ idesk
     Idesk starting in :0.0
    [idesk] Background's source not found.
    terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::ios_base::failure'
      what():  basic_filebuf::underflow error reading the file
    Aborted
    I unmerged and re-emerged it with no success.

    Can anyone offer any suggestions??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    1) Can you boot a liveCD and remove /sys/* ?

    2) Have you tried a different version?

    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    1) Can you boot a liveCD and remove /sys/* ?
    I've got a couple of liveCDs I could use. Is it safe to remove /sys?? Like the following??
    Code:
    rm -rf /mnt/gentoo/sys
    I was thinking about doing that, but it sounds like it could break something!

    Quote Originally Posted by sarumont
    2) Have you tried a different version?
    I don't understand what you mean. Do you mean to use a different version of idesk, or to give up on it and use conky or gkrellm or something like that??

    Thanks for the fast response sarumont -- I appreciate it.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I might recompile everything with the new GCC to be sure,
    Code:
    emerge -e system
    emerge -e system
    emerge -e world
    emerge -e world
    I'll do it twice like that to make sure it works. Sure, it'll take a loooooong time, but it's worth a shot. Unless anyone has any suggestions??

    I had a look at the FHS and I couldn't find anything about /sys -- what is it used for?? Can anyone confirm for me that it would be OK for me to remove /sys from gentoo using a liveCD? Will this be regenerated when I next boot into gentoo??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    So I just did the re-compile of everything as described in my previous post (took 5 days!), and I am left with the same problems. idesk refuses to start, and gives me the error I posted at the top of this thread, and I get a the same error messages on boot about not being able to remove /sys.

    Tonite I'm going to rename /sys to /sys.bak to see if the computer can boot without it (and hopefully will generate a new /sys).

    I'm completely stuck when it comes to the idesk problem. I really liked the way I had it set up and would love to get my icons back. I googled on the error (see the first post of this thread) and I think it is some error with compiling, but I have no idea what to do since I have recompiled my whole system so many times.

    Can anyone help me get my icons back??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    Tonite I'm going to rename /sys to /sys.bak to see if the computer can boot without it (and hopefully will generate a new /sys).
    This worked fine. No problems.

    Just have to get idesk started now -- any ideas??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #7
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    No one has any suggestions??

    I'd love to either,
    1/ Fix idesk -- I've spent a while configuring it, and I'd love if someone could help me get it working again.
    2/ Get icons on fluxbox another way.

    Thanks guys.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Since re-emerging, have you tried going through idesk's set-up procedure? See section "Setup" here.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •