Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Man i cant start gnome,I just emerge it from the pkg cd with emerge -avk gnome ,And went to the manual and done the echo "and so on......... hit startx ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379

    gnome


    Man i cant start gnome,I just emerge it from the pkg cd with emerge -avk gnome ,And went to the manual and done the echo "and so on......... hit startx and back in xterm,Its here somwhere how do i start it?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    You have to specify which WM/DE for X to use. Edit /etc/rc.conf and see the XSESSION variable. On a user basis, you can specify the WM/DE to use in your ~/.xinitrc. This may not exist, so create it and put the following in it:

    Code:
    exec gnomesession
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast gruven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    541
    Or, just check in /etc/rc.conf and set your login manager to gdm, and set your Session to Gnome.

    Then, at the prompt, type in
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/xdm start
    and that should bring up gdm, so that you can log in to gnome.

    That is, if you have setup your X server correctly, and have the correct drivers for everything.

    If it doesn't work, try posting your Xorg log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log).

    Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

  4. #4
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379

    gnome

    Cool guys but now i cant log in ,I got gnome running then configured login manager done the rc-update add xdm default,Then change the xdm to gdm in the /etc/rc.conf what now?

  5. #5
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271
    Is your userdata is not accepted or some kind of an X issue?
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    xdm reads .xsession (or it may be .Xsession , can't remember for sure) instead of .xinitrc, and iirc it needs to be executable. Easy way for startx and xdm to play nice with each other is to set .xinitrc executable and symlink .xsession to it. And I think it's gnome-session, not gnomesession, so your .xinitrc should look like:

    exec gnome-session

    If gnome is not installed into a normal path, or if the normal path isn't set when loading .xinitrc, you may need to put it like this:

    exec /opt/gnome/bin/gnome-session

    Of course, substitute the correct path in place of /opt/gnome . If you're not sure where it's installed, then using the locate or find commands could help you. If you got anything else in .xinitrc , you should probably comment them out by putting a # at the beginning of the line.

  7. #7
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379

    gnome

    Yes but i cant get into gnome i just get login screen i cant login as root or user and if i cant login i cant change anything i just get login screen,and my .xinintrc is correct but how can i see what i cant acsess.
    This happend after configureing login manager.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    NetBsdtoaster, that was uncalled for.

    Mactabilis, if you add

    exec gnome-session

    to your .xinitrc file in your users home directory, you should be able to log into gnome.
    Use nano to put that line in there, I have always found it easier than doing the echo command, because after doing the echo command I still have to go and check the file to make sure it is the way I want it. With nano you know that it is right.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #9
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379

    gnome

    Ok i will put it like this when i "rc-update add xdm default" i could no longer login to my gnome desktop ,But i can get the terminal by doing ctrl+alt+f1 at gdm my .xinitrc looks fine and is set at "exec gnome-session" and XSESSIONS is set to gnome,Ok this is the error i get when i startx from terminal ,

    Code:
    Host name lookup faliure

    fatal server error server is allready running

    remove /tmp/.X0-lock and start again "i did"

    please consault xorg foundation and so on

    xlib: conection to ":0.0" refused by server

    xlib:invalid mit-magic-cokie giving up

    xinit:unable to connect to x server

    xinit:no such prosess(errnos 3): server error

  10. #10
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379

    gnome

    And net/bsd toaster ,I can not see very well at all so im doing ok even getting gentoo kernel to boot.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •