Find the answer to your Linux question:
Has anyone tried it out yet? I'm thinking about downloading the .iso with the installer on it, although I do feel a bit odd considering I never use alpha software, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Gentoo GUI installer

Has anyone tried it out yet? I'm thinking about downloading the .iso with the installer on it, although I do feel a bit odd considering I never use alpha software, I usually don't use beta, and occasionally I'll use RC's. I'm not a developer, etc.

I've installed Gentoo countless times since the 2004.2 iso, I'd just like to make life easier on myself and not have to put out a lot of work (I have time to install but parroting commands is not how I want to do it).

So is this stable and whatnot? By definition, of course it's not as it's alpha but does anyone have any personal experience from installing it through the GUI installer? Thanks.
    Registered Linux user #393103

try it if it is available it probably works! just take the leap hell most of the unstable gentoo stuff works flawlessly anyways with a few hicups here and there

/me heads off to grab the installer to try it and if it no workie will file a bug on it so that it will be fixed eventualy
    Last edited by loft306; 12-24-2005 at 05:47 PM.
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

OK, thanks.

It's version 0.2, and I read a review of someone using 0.1 I believe and they said it was great so I might just do it. Unfortunately I have to wait til later until I can download the 700MB file because my parents limit bandwith usage to certain times (when they aren't on their computers).

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    lol................................
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org