Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
I have managed a workaroooooooound. I boot into Suse, copy the music to my data partition, boot back into Gentoo, play music....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    I have managed a workaroooooooound.

    I boot into Suse, copy the music to my data partition, boot back into Gentoo, play music.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #12
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    Solved: Audio cd won't play

    Problem solved.
    New fstab


    /dev/hdc /mnt/dvdrw iso9660 ro,noauto,users,unhide 0 0

    /dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom iso9660 ro,noauto,users,unhide 0 0
    Last edited by budman7; 01-03-2006 at 05:02 AM. Reason: Problem Solved
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #13
    Linux User mactabilis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    moon
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    I could swear I when I took the entry from the handbook, that it was in there.
    Normally, ro suggests read-only.

    But taking that out did not solve the problem.

    Mactabilis, you said you can browse data cds, but can you listen to audio cds?

    No my audio cd wont play when i put it in,i can only browse data,This is my current fstab /dev/dvdrw /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,users 0 0.

  4. #14
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Try changing the mount point to /dev/dvdrw.

    You will probably have to create it.

    mkdir /mnt/dvdrw

    You could also try changing the filesystem from auto to iso9660.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    98
    mactabilis, did you resolve your issue yet?
    I'm having the same problem. I can mount my cdrom and browse data, but unable to listen to audio cd's.

    EDIT: errr... my bad... it appears i CAN listen to audio cd's, just not with xmms... i emerged grip as i planned to rip the cd to mp3 and listen to it that way, and grip was able to play the audio cd's.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •