Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
im new to gentoo this is my first time install, i followed the handbook and installed everything including the grub bootloader after doing the reboot i see this screen, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! nimwa2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95

    Unhappy error booting after grub


    im new to gentoo this is my first time install, i followed the handbook and installed everything including the grub bootloader after doing the reboot i see this screen, and im like wow it workes!

    http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/4933/picture16lb.jpg
    http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/4064/picture21ta.jpg

    but after pressing the enter button i get this error, and i got no idea what its saying.

    http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/4073/picture38sp.jpg

    in the error it says

    Booting 'Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6'
    root (hd0,0)
    Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
    kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc
    [Linux-bzImage, setup=0x1c00, size=0x1c8507]
    initrd /initramfs-genkernel-pentium4-2.6.12-gentoo-r6

    Error 15: File not found

    Press any key to continue...

    __________________________________________________ _______________

    i know its saying i messed up somewhere but im lost, can anyone help with this or anything please?


    -thx

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    54
    You can do this one of two ways.

    First method:
    Boot back up the system with the Gentoo install CD and re-mount the partions just as you did before. Example:
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/gentoo
    mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
    Then ls -l /mnt/gentoo/boot and verify the initrd and kernel lines of /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/menu.lst correspond to actuall files. Example, For this entry in menu.lst:
    Code:
    title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r10
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
    initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    There should be these files in /boot directory:
    Code:
    kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    My guess is that this line in menu.lst:
    initrd /initramfs-genkernel-pentium4-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    should be:
    initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    but thats a guess.


    Second method:
    You can try this change without even booting from the CD. Simply boot like normal, and when you get the screen in the first two screenshots you made press the 'E' key then highlight the line you wish to change and hit 'E' again, this will allow you to edit the line. Simply hit enter to accept changes then hit 'B' to boot. This change is only temporarily and will need to be made permanent by editing menu.lst but is faster and easier to test like this.
    Last edited by Zero-0-Effect; 01-07-2006 at 06:53 AM. Reason: Made more clear

  3. #3
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a pretty good GRUB primer should you want to dig deeper into it once you get your box up and running:

    http://www.linuxjournal.com/article/4622

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! nimwa2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95

    Unhappy

    well i wrote that grub.conf in:

    /boot/grub/grub.conf

    according to the handbook, but when i try to enter that file again from the LiveCD i just get a blank page

    i typed nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf

    i guessing -w is write? pretty confussing...

    i tried from the grub screen to edit the lines but it didnt really save the changes which redid the line to the same as before causing the error.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    54
    Quote Originally Posted by nimwa2
    well i wrote that grub.conf in:

    /boot/grub/grub.conf

    according to the handbook, but when i try to enter that file again from the LiveCD i just get a blank page

    i typed nano -w /boot/grub/grub.conf

    i guessing -w is write? pretty confussing...

    i tried from the grub screen to edit the lines but it didnt really save the changes which redid the line to the same as before causing the error.
    Well, if you boot back up with the Gentoo Live cd then mount the partitions in /mnt/gentoo and /mnt/gentoo/boot as you did when you installed it, the correct command would be nano -w /mnt/gentoo/boot/grub/grub.conf unless you chroot first which is not needed.

    The -w is for wrapping, to turn it off in this case, otherwise commands that are suppose to be on one line would wrap to the next and cuase grub some problems. Its a good idea to turn wrapping off when you get your system up and running as well. Just create /etc/nanorc and add the line "set nowrap" without qoutes.

    When you edit from the grub menu the changes are only for that session. If they do or do not work the next time you boot they will go back to whatever is listed in grub.conf.

    To clear something up, grub.conf and menu.lst are the same file, most likely linked to one another.

  7. #6
    Just Joined! nimwa2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95
    thx i understand a bit more now, but i went into the grub folder and changed the pentium4 parts of grub.conf to x86 now when i reboot and i get to the grub selection screen and i then select gentoo then i get that penguin in the corner and alot of text passes the screen then it says

    >>Activating udev
    >>determining root device...
    !! The root block device is unspecified or not detected
    Please specify a device to boot or "shell" for a shell...
    boot() ::


    what does this problem mean?

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    54
    I think the problem might be with this entry:
    real_root=/dev/hda*

    That needs to point to your root partition.

    When you at that prompt asking for shell or device to boot you can try entering where your root partition is such as /dev/hda3. Obviously replace /dev/hda3 with the appropriate partition of your root partition.


    Could you possibly post your grub.conf and the output of fdisk -l (thats a lowercase L)

  9. #8
    Just Joined! nimwa2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95
    my grub.conf
    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 30
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    
    title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc
    ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
    initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    my fdisk:
    http://img434.imageshack.us/img434/1...n01copy1bq.jpg

    i have no idea which one is the right..
    Last edited by loft306; 01-07-2006 at 09:23 PM.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Quote Originally Posted by nimwa2
    my grub.conf
    Code:
    default 0
    timeout 30
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    
    title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.12-r6
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc
    ramdisk=8192 real_root=/dev/hda3 udev
    initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.12-gentoo-r6
    my fdisk:
    http://img434.imageshack.us/img434/1...n01copy1bq.jpg

    i have no idea which one is the right..
    that apears to be correct....
    but however did you add the correct file system support to your kernel (i know it is genkernel)and emerge the correct fsprogs?
    also did you edit /etc/fstab to the actual /dev/xxx 's

    and could you paste the output of
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    &
    Code:
     ls -al /boot
    or if chroot'd then
    Code:
    cat /mnt/gentoo/etc/fstab
    &
    Code:
    ls -al /mnt/gentoo/boot
    Last edited by loft306; 01-07-2006 at 09:57 PM.
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  11. #10
    Just Joined! nimwa2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    95
    im pretty sure i didnt do most of the things your talking about and if i did it was probably wrong

    but heres what you asked for the fstab thinggy

    http://img480.imageshack.us/img480/1332/dscf03061pk.jpg

    but when i compiled the kernel i chose the pentium4-2.6.12 something, im pretty sure of that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •