Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
ok so heres my problem: everything goes smooth till... live cd src# grub-install /dev/hda df: warning:cannot read table of mounted filesystems:no such file or directory df: warning:cannot read table of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    10

    cannot read.. blah, blah.... awww :(


    ok so heres my problem:

    everything goes smooth till...
    live cd src# grub-install /dev/hda
    df: warning:cannot read table of mounted filesystems:no such file or directory
    df: warning:cannot read table of mounted filesystems:no such file or directory
    could not find device /boot: not found or not a block device

    someone please tell me what config files to post and how to fix it
    thnx

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Looking at the prompt you have, are you chrooted into the gentoo install while doing this?

    Secondly post
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    did you copy /proc/mounts to /etc/mtab?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    10

    hmm

    i gotta say iam a noob with linux and i probably shouldnt be starting with gentoo from whati hear and iam going to anyways, i followed the handbook to the letter.. i think i may have miss configured something with nano, i am willing to try anything so tell me whatever i need to type in.. this is my second time trying to install first time i tryed lilo and this time grub, i dont think i copied the proc thing

  5. #5
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    See This section of handbook, execute this command to copy over /proc/mounts:
    Code:
    grep -v rootfs /proc/mounts > /etc/mtab
    Also, like dylunio asked, did you perform the chroot command at the appropriate time?
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    10
    yes i chrooted when the handbook told me to, i have manually configured grub and booted to a command section.. now i cant getto the handbook on cd so iam looking for instructions to go from there

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •