Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I'm fairly new to linux, only a month or two's experience, but i'm getting the following error when trying to run emerge These are the packages that I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Emerge and errors

Hi all, I'm fairly new to linux, only a month or two's experience, but i'm getting the following error when trying to run emerge

These are the packages that I would merge, in order:

!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
    !!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?

I've never had this problem before and everything has been working fine, now all of a sudden I get this? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I'm not sure where to start. The make.profile file is listed when I do an ls, but when i try to open it says "make.profile: No such file or directory" Thanks an advance for any help you can give me.

Linux Enthusiast
    Sounds like you made a mistake when you installed it, when you install portage during the gentoo installation, you have to set a few variables, arch, use and that sort of thing, it sounds like you made a mistake when you were writing them, try and go back to where they are, and set the ARCH again to whatever platform you use.

Although I could be wrong, I dont use gentoo and havent in a while

Just Joined!
    Wouldn't it have not worked in the first place though. It's been working properly for the last couple of months, I was then trying to update clamav and got that error.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    here are the details when i use emerge info
    emerge info
    [Portage 2.0.51-r3 (default-linux/x86/2004.3, gcc-3.3.4, glibc-2.3.4.20040808-r1, 2.4.26-gentoo-r9 i686)
    ================================================== ===============
    System uname: 2.4.26-gentoo-r9 i686 Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
    Gentoo Base System version 1.4.16