Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey I am new to linux and gentoo. Currently in college for linux(part of the required list) And i just cant seem to get linux to install. Can someone please ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Hey new User to Linux and Gentoo..Help

Hey I am new to linux and gentoo. Currently in college for linux(part of the required list) And i just cant seem to get linux to install. Can someone please send me Direction on how to, Or something like that. i want to install Gentoo. Thanks. [edited by moderator took out [b][I]]
    Last edited by loft306; 04-08-2006 at 02:02 AM.

I would suggest that if you are new to linux, try installing Ubuntu or SuSE first, then get the hang of it, then install Gentoo.

But, if you are dead set on installing Gentoo, then there is only one real way. Go to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/index.xml, and follow the instructions.

Linux User #376741
    Code is Poetry

Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Gentoo would be too tricky for you. It requires a lot of experience (and knowledge) to get it working. Try starting with Fedora or SuSE first and hack them before trying Gentoo. Sorry Gruven but at a personal level I feel Ubuntu should not be used by beginers, not because it is hard but because I don't see much scope for learning there. (No offence inteded.)

In case of problems you know where to come >>>linuxforums!!!
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

Quote Originally Posted by apoorv_khurasia
    Gentoo would be too tricky for you. It requires a lot of experience (and knowledge) to get it working. Try starting with Fedora or SuSE first and hack them before trying Gentoo. Sorry Gruven but at a personal level I feel Ubuntu should not be used by beginers, not because it is hard but because I don't see much scope for learning there. (No offence inteded.)