Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I am using Gentoo 2.6.15-r1 on my box. I recently installed fbsplash on it and since then I get these annoying messages during the boot sequence Code: cannot touch /var/lib/init.d/deptree ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624

    Exclamation cannot touch /var/lib/init.d/deptree


    I am using Gentoo 2.6.15-r1 on my box. I recently installed fbsplash on it and since then I get these annoying messages during the boot sequence

    Code:
    cannot touch /var/lib/init.d/deptree read-only filesystem
    cannot touch /var/lib/init.d/depcache read-only filesystem
    and so on......
    I have changed the permissions of all these files to a+x+w+r but this problem does not seem to vanish. Can somebody help me?

    Thanking you in anticipation.
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    I take it that /var is on a separate partition from /? Assuming so, can you please post up your /etc/fstab.

    Can you touch anything else on /var?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    I take it that /var is on a separate partition from /? Assuming so, can you please post up your /etc/fstab.

    Can you touch anything else on /var?
    After the boot I can touch /var but it seems that during the boot process the answer is no. BTW here is my fstab.
    Code:
    # ROOT
    /dev/hda7               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
    
    # SWAP
    /dev/hda8               none            swap            sw              0 0
    
    # REMOVAL DEVICES
    /dev/cdrw               /mnt/cdrom      auto            uid=500,gid=100,noauto,rw,exec,users    0 0
    /dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            uid=500,gid=100,noauto,rw,exec,users    0 0
    
    # WINDOWS DRIVES
    /dev/hda1               /mnt/win_c      vfat            uid=500,gid=100,rw,exec,users   0 1
    
    /dev/hda5               /mnt/win_d      vfat            uid=500,gid=100,rw,exec,users   1 1
    
    /dev/hda6               /mnt/win_e      vfat            uid=500,gid=100,rw,exec,users   1 1
    # HOME SWEET HOME
    /dev/hda9               /home           ext3            defaults,noatime 0 0
    
    # NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
    proc                    /proc           proc            defaults        0 0
    
    shm                     /dev/shm        tmpfs           nodev,nosuid,noexec     0 0
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  4. #4
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Well, I'm not familiar with fbsplash, so I'm having a spot of difficulty here. I take it that these messages occur after the line "Mounting root filesystem read-only" and before "Remounting root filesystem" (or whatever the second one is that mounts it as writable)?

    Did you follow the directions at:

    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_gensplash

    ?

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    Well, I'm not familiar with fbsplash, so I'm having a spot of difficulty here. I take it that these messages occur after the line "Mounting root filesystem read-only" and before "Remounting root filesystem" (or whatever the second one is that mounts it as writable)?

    Did you follow the directions at:

    http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_gensplash

    ?
    Ya these messages appear actually the former one. I had followed all the instructions on the page. Sometime back I thought that may be I am mounting my root partition as ro. So from my lilo.conf I have deleted the line "read-only". But that did not work. Any suggestions? I am not mounting my / partition as ro. Am I?
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  6. #6
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    No you're not. A standard part of the boot procedure is that the / is mounted read-only so that it can be examined, and then it is remounted as writable.

    Try this:
    Code:
    rc-update del splash boot
    rc-update add splash default
    The splash should show up later in the boot process, but this may fix it.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast apoorv_khurasia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    624
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    No you're not. A standard part of the boot procedure is that the / is mounted read-only so that it can be examined, and then it is remounted as writable.

    Try this:
    Code:
    rc-update del splash boot
    rc-update add splash default
    The splash should show up later in the boot process, but this may fix it.
    That did not solve the problem
    "There is no sixth rule"
    --Rob Pike
    Registered Linux User: 400426 home page

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3
    what are you trying to screw with the file for. can you do it from a different distro or possibly a different boot sorry im bad at wording but i think youl understand what i mean. use a live disc to see if you can mess with the file (make sure its mounted as writable before attempting)

    sorry that was probably useless seeing as i suck at wording and im not a user of this distro i just found the subject interesting

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3
    oh wait completely ignore that... it just hit me what file you were talking about yeah i had a similar situation on another distro im not sure how i fixed it it was along time ago

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Alrighty, according to a post on the Gentoo forums:
    Code:
    emerge --sync
    emerge baselayout
    that will supposedly fix it. Lemme know how that goes.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •