Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
Did you follow all of this? http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml And did you take a look at this? http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc...odule=intel8x0 I have the same onboard sound card as you do (i810) and never had ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211

    Did you follow all of this?
    http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/alsa-guide.xml

    And did you take a look at this?
    http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc...odule=intel8x0

    I have the same onboard sound card as you do (i810) and never had an issue with it on numerous distros (Arch, Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, Vector, DSL, etc.).
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6
    Another idea that I can think of:

    emerge and set coldplug as a default runlevel ("rc-update add coldplug default"). This may detect a few modules that you aren't aware of. It scans your system and loads anything necessary. It COULD pick up your sound card.

  3. #13
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    I did follow the Gentoo instructions and am looking at the ALSA site now. I just ran the rc-update thing and got "gentoo kbk # rc-update add coldplug default
    * coldplug added to runlevel default
    * rc-update complete."
    So I think I have done that before. Anything else??

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    same f..... issue. For two days I'm playing with alsamixer like an idiot. I 've tried everyting, it simply does't work

  6. #15
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    I can't understand it..How does it just not work at all? I'm just going to wait until I have my new computer, sound isn't all that important eh.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    try running knoppix or something and look at
    Code:
    lsmod
    and
    Code:
    lspci | grep audio
    and post the output here. i've got an intel onboard sound card on my laptop which works perfectly and another guy said his works fine.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •